Toyota Avensis Wagon D4D 2.2 Tyres

Drive a Toyota Avensis Wagon D4D 2.2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota Avensis Wagon D4D 2.2
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (6) 95% 92% 92% 75% 90% 93% 95% 88% 2,400
Michelin CrossClimate (107) 89% 87% 85% 81% 86% 92% 88% 82% 1,314,939
Michelin Primacy 4 (50) 86% 85% 77% 79% 85% 87% 73% 82% 723,030
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Nankang Noble Sport NS20 (26) 73% 59% 68% 60% 76% 71% 58% 67% 311,070

Toyota Avensis Wagon D4D 2.2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Was looking for good all season tires, read many reviews and tests and finally chosen Vredestein quatrac pro. My father still has quatrac 5 allseason tires, riding them 6 years already and there are thread left for about year. No complains about quatrac 5. I had Vredestein snowtrack 3 on my other car and they were really good tires, so i decided to give another try for allseason tires. And it looks it was good decision. Can't tell anything about winter condition yet. I drove only about 200km with them yet, but can tell that they are really amazing. Grip is superb, braking too (dry and wet). Very comfortable ride though tires pressure i hold is 2.5bar and they still feel soft on road bumps. Tire noise is absent too, don't know how from outside, but inside the car i can't hear them. Steering is very light and sharp with these tires. I'm very keen to test them on winter conditions, hope will surprise me too. I'm happy with my choice. Well done Vredestein. I had other brand tires like Goodyear, Continental, Toyo, but when i found Vredestein they beat them all by price/quality ratio.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-19 12:55:29
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 93% (215-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 easy going miles
Can't really fault these at all. They were expensive because mine are a slightly odd size made in smaller quantities, apparently, but they're doing a brilliant job. I've checked the fitting paperwork and it's about 8500 miles since they went onto my (fairly heavy) Toyota Avensis estate. Grip in the wet and dry is fantastic. There's a real solidity to the way they bite and hold, even if you tighten your line mid-corner. My road often isn't gritted in the winter but these got me up the hill and off the estate every time I asked, even when the road surface was sheet ice. I had to be careful to avoid wheelspin, but the tyres found more than enough grip where summer tyres were seeing other cars abandoned at the roadside.

Braking grip is outstanding. My older Avensis doesn't have brilliant brakes but you can stamp on them without causing the tyres any headaches. At the limit (which feels strange in an Avensis), the tyres are super-progressive. Naturally I'm looking at understeer, but the CrossClimates are very reluctant to give up the ghost in the first place, sliding and regaining grip very predictably when they eventually do.

Marks have to come off because of a relative lack of feel next to a top-drawer summer tyre, and also because of a strange 'hissing' sound the tyres make under acceleration, but only on smooth surfaces. I noticed it as soon as the tyres were swapped and, having long since gotten used to it, I thought it had vanished until I listened for it properly again, and it's still there.

Wear rates are practically non-existent. I'm normally fairly gentle with the car to protect it, but 8500 miles seems to have taken less than 1mm off the fronts. That's astonishing. If that wear rate holds up, I could realistically be looking at changing them because of age before I change them because of wear. My wife has just bought a used B-Max with mismatched tyres, and we'll be swapping them for CrossClimates as soon as we can afford to.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-02 14:20:55
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 91% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Energy Rating: B / A / 68dbFeedback of the First 1000Km:
- Low Noise (Low Noise), low rolling resistance, excellent adhesion in wet and dry conditions .. improved stability and comfort compared to Primacy3.
Highly Recommend - Very Close to the Perfect!
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-26 17:30:43
Writing about the Nankang Noble Sport NS20 given 84% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 spirited miles
Good overall performance.
Surprisingly also on wet.
Neutral feel.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-06 18:59:48
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 83% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 average miles
Fitted to the front of a 2007 Toyota Avensis 2.2 D4D Tourer used for commuting, so leisurely rather than progressive driving in the main! They perform well in both the dry and wet. They are quiet and comfortable. The only downside is that after 18,000 miles they need replacing, which is a disappointment given my driving style. The only other comment is that even when inflated to to recommended pressure, they appear under-inflated.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-04 21:44:45
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre