Toyota Celica GT4 Tyres

Drive a Toyota Celica GT4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota Celica GT4
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (138) 91% 88% 83% 79% 71% 80% 79% 82% 1,598,123
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (155) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,425,323
Nankang NS2R (33) 92% 69% 85% 87% 73% 55% 79% 77% 103,171
Nexen CP641 (33) 75% 59% 62% 67% 76% 70% 61% 67% 290,749
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Bridgestone Sporty Style MY02 (6) 80% 56% 68% 68% 66% 64% 42% 63% 118,000
Toyo T1S (10) 66% 49% 63% 57% 65% 65% 59% 61% 84,300
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (125) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,243,457
Kumho Ecsta 712 (10) 69% 42% 51% 47% 74% 50% 31% 52% 150,250
Rotalla F105 (26) 63% 29% 43% 39% 58% 58% 31% 46% 170,502

Toyota Celica GT4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
AMAZING!!! Brought from Camskill for ?185 a pair. In the wet especially they are just immense, the car used to understeer in the wet, now the front just keeps gripping and the back (which is still on budget rubber) just lets go! Will buy again!!!
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-26 00:51:30
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 91% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
These are a very good tyre. Dry and wet grip is very good, comparable to the top end tyres from other brands. Tyre noise is vastly reduced over my previous tyres (some cheap Nexens which came with the car).
My favourite aspect of these is the progressiveness - you can really feel what they are doing and the levels of grip available to you in the bends.
Grip does seem to drop off slightly when the temperatures are sub 5 degrees, but this is the case with any summer tyre and the feedback means you can feel it happening readily.
I can't comment on tyre wear yet as have only had them on for ~1000 miles, but they feel like a fairly soft compound so wouldn't expect them to be super long lasting.
I will definitely be buying these again if available in my size. In some sizes they are a verifiable bargain when compared with the competition.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-04 19:07:43
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I don't know why there are some bad reviews for these tyres, I think they are excellent. I have been buying Uniroyal tyres for years, but living in Northern Ireland we experience a lot more wet weather than most of the UK.

Uniroyal tyres are made by Continental in Germany, so the quality is superb. Wet grip is phenomenal, dry grip is as good as Toyo Proxies. Luckily for me the celica gives excellent drivers feedback unlike a lot of these more modern cars.

My previous tyres were Pirelli Pzero's and before that I had a set of Falken's on but Uniroyal wet & dry grip is far superior!

I would say the only problem I have with these tyres is road noise, but that's more down to my car than the tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-11 15:28:40
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 80% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21000 spirited miles
These tyres came with a set of wheels on ebay. Couln't afford the offered upgrade to Falkens at the time and to be honest, i'm glad. They've been carrying my moderately tuned (315bhp) jap import around as a daily driver car for close to 2 and a half years and are just bordering on legal at the mo, after nearly 21k of often spirited but mostly short journey driving. Grip in the dry is as good as the pirelli p zero's i had fitted previously(which lasted little more than a year) although the wet grip isn't fantastic, yet fine if driven sensibly. The tread pattern is very similar to the Yokohama's which came with my car when i imported it and the grip level probably matches those japanese wonders. Maybe my cars 4 wheel drive and big spoiler lend a bit of extra roadholding to the tyre. A GREAT VALUE BUDGET PERFORMANCE TYRE. Shopping around for a new set right now!
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-20 18:49:35
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 77% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Put these on my Celica GT-Four ST205 with 280hp 6000 miles ago. They are XL so the sidewall is super stiff, perfect for a rather heavy car like mine. Dry grip is outstanding and surprisingly so is wet grip as long as they are not too cold. It might be the traction of the GT-Four but I have found these impossible to lose traction on public roads even on wet surfaces. Just watch out if it is too cold during winter and the tarmac is wet, but hey, these are semis so you can't ask for more. I reckon I can still do at least twice as many miles with them so very good for such a sporty tire. Treadwear of mine is 180. Unfortunately haven't had the chance to try them out on trackdays but I will, soon. In short, they are cheap, grip well in any condition and last more than many other similar tires. Just be sure to warm them up enough during cold winter days and you are free to go.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-11 21:34:56
Writing about the Rotalla F105 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Great summer tyre reasonable in the wet soft compound really gives me confidence in corners
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-13 06:07:04
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 73% (215-40-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
I've no idea what half of the other reviewers here are doing with these tyres, I bought these to put on a 300hp 4WD celica and while they do lose some grip in the wet obviously, they grip really quite well (better than other tyres I've had at twice the price!) and are progressive when they let go. My problem with them is I go through them approximately every 10-12K miles on the front, 20K on the rear.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-07 01:29:26
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 70% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
This is my second review of these tyres as I've now had two sets and driven 3 years with them. In my first review I was very pleased with them, but now having lost 2 tyres to potholes, and one tyre wall to rub up along a kerb, I can confirm that the sidewall is just too soft and I can confirm they are quite noisey.
Fantastic in the wet, really good in the dry, but at the price of them they are just too expensive to loose to an average pothole on a dark wet night.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-13 12:44:55
Writing about the Nexen CP641 given 64% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Fitted to a Toyota Celica Gt-Four 215/55/16

Good points:
- Fairly progressive breakaway when traction is lost
- Feedback/steerig feel is good, and ride quality is ok.
- Seem to be wearing at a fair rate.

Negatives:
- Grip falls off quickly in damp/cold conditions
- NOISE! these are by far the noisiest tyres I have ever used. I thought I had a wheel bearing failure when I fitted them it was that bad. Unless the road is perfectly smooth fresh tarmac the tyre roar is deafening.

Wouldn't purchase again unless for a town car which never went above 30mph so the noise wouldn't matter.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-06 15:33:11
Writing about the Toyo T1S given 64% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 spirited miles
Wear rate is far too high.
Beyond that, A good and mostly underrated performance tyre. Though leaves me feeling like there's more can be had maybe, and so will be trying something else next time....but only out of curiosity.

Takes forever to run the tyres in. About 100 miles of atrociously low grip levels. Then suddenly, the tyre came into it's own.

Managed the journey to and from the nurburgring. And 3 quick laps of it, with very little complaint. Lots of feedback. And you really know when they were going to let go.
tyre reviewed on 2007-10-30 21:09:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre