Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0 Tyres

Drive a Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
Falken Wildpeak WP AT01 (4) 88% 78% 85% 73% 70% 88% 88% 81% 21,000
Cooper Discoverer MS (7) 87% 85% 73% 73% 76% 67% 85% 78% 83,020
Continental ContiCrossContact LX (12) 82% 71% 72% 75% 60% 67% 57% 72% 257,100
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (62) 79% 64% 69% 62% 72% 63% 60% 67% 924,589
Toyo H08 (6) 55% 47% 44% 37% 65% 48% 53% 50% 62,050

Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 89% (265-70-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
Only done 2000 miles on these tyres on the new truck, will add wear rate and snow performance in due course.
Hilux was terrible on original pirelli's, would try to throw tail out in even damp conditions. The vehicle also felt too big for them (if that makes sense).
The Vreds have completely transformed the handling of the vehicle, and SWMBO throws it around like a normal car now, she gets a move on believe me. Icy and cold wet roads are travelled as if they are almost dry. It goes as straight as a die, and much more comfortable ride quality. Recommend 100%.
tyre reviewed on 2008-01-05 01:03:34
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 87% (265-70-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I researched summer tyres for the pick up for some time, priority being wet grip. Surpisingly good, wet grip excellent, seem to be wearing very slowly but the icing on the cake is the ride quality and silence. The truck could be a rough ride and noisy, no more.
So far no downsides, i use winters anyway so won;t find out if they are any good.
Recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-20 20:48:31
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer MS given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I have these tires under a dubb. cab Hilux 3.0 d4d. I drove them in Holland, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, Germany and Romania. These tires rock! I drove them on and off-road in any winter condition imaginable. Mud, Ice, Snow, Slush and anything in between. Had a lot of snow and ice in Swizerland, -14 Celsius in Romania and never ever had any trouble! I can really recommend them. I bought them because they we're the only winter tires with a bit of off-road profile. And yes they preformed well there too! I mean these are not Mud tires, and tend to fill up quickly but they are taking me through a lot of forest road without any trouble whatsoever. And on the highways driving 160 kmph, no complaints either!
235/70/15.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-23 16:57:21
Writing about the Continental ContiCrossContact LX given 69% (265-65-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
Dry grip is excellent and when pushed, the slip angles aren't so scary that you find yourself pointing in the direction you came from. +'ve and -'ve acceleration were good.

Wet grip was reasonable. Not as good as I hoped around corners but having said that, they gave you plenty of feedback and did nothing unexpected. Braking was ok but it was possible to wake the traction control system up if you accelerated from traffic lights with too much enthusiasm.
Aquaplaning in standing water wasn't a problem in the first 6 months, but as the tread reduced I found myself avoiding puddles.

Cold weather/snow. Until the rubber warmed a little, I found these tyres would not give good grip on asphalt. The first five miles would need to be driven with caution (I guess this is true of many tyres) I was hoping these would do better for the shorter trips in cold weather)

Yes, I do high mileage. Mostly on A-roads and Motorways. These tyres are now down to 2mm tread depth after less than a year. I was hoping for maybe two years out of them.

I probably won't buy them again. I'm going to try Michelin Latitude Cross.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-20 12:21:23
Writing about the Falken Wildpeak WP AT01 given 66% (265-65-17-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 easy going miles
when I first bought them - they performed well in most conditions. First winter with snow and Ice grip was acceptable, 2nd year snow and ice grip was poor and I noticed that wet grip reduced quite a bit, with heavy rain had so switch to 4wd to prevent my pickup from spinning on sharp turns when accelerating (did not had this issue first year). 3rd winter snow/ice grip was gone even if tires still had some meat on them. they have done 12000 miles, taking in account that Im easy going driver thats not much. Changing to Yokohama G015
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-15 08:41:21
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given 43% (265-65-17-S)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-21 02:24:07
Writing about the Toyo H08 given 37% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27000 spirited miles
These tyres have very poor grip. My Toyota HiLux Ute had a set of Bridgestone tyres from new and they lasted 98,000km. Even at very low tread they had better grip than the Toyo's had brand new. I get the ABS comming on continualy because the grip is so poor.
I should have spent the extra $ and purchased the same Bridgestone tyres that were fitted by Toyota from new.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-18 11:34:36
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 0% (265-70-16-H)
Driving on for 0 miles
I have copied my original review, and have added a snow/wear report, would you be kind enough to add.
Many thanks and like the site by the way Brian.

Only done 2000 miles on these tyres on the new truck, will add wear rate and snow performance in due course.
Hilux was terrible on original pirelli's, would try to throw tail out in even damp conditions. The vehicle also felt too big for them (if that makes sense).
The Vreds have completely transformed the handling of the vehicle, and SWMBO throws it around like a normal car now, she gets a move on believe me. Icy and cold wet roads are travelled as if they are almost dry. It goes as straight as a die, and much more comfortable ride quality. Recommend 100%. Added to this review, have now done further 1500 miles, wear negligible. In snow these are superb, if you are in deep snow and stop the vehicle you will find no snow in the tread, they are remarkable self cleaners. Will be putting these on any vehicle i own for winter use.
tyre reviewed on 2008-03-23 17:01:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre