Toyota MK1 MR2 NA Tyres

Drive a Toyota MK1 MR2 NA? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota MK1 MR2 NA
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (8) 90% 63% 85% 90% 76% 76% 96% 82% 51,610
Toyo R888 (33) 95% 69% 86% 85% 63% 59% 86% 77% 180,961
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782

Toyota MK1 MR2 NA Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kleber Quadraxer given 85% (185-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1 spirited miles
I drive a 1988 Toyota Mr2, which is rear wheel drive and weighs as much as a Ford KA; this certainly doesn't do me any favours in wet-weather conditions. After aquaplaning sideways off a roundabout a ridiculously low speed, I decided that my previous tyres, Maxxis, were nowhere near suitable for wet weather driving.

I decided on these, they're cheap enough and rated for all weather conditions. After giving them about two months of UK autumn driving (read: a mixed bag of frost, standing water and dry roads), I can very safely say that these tyres really do out-perform their price bracket. I can quite happily take corners at twice the speed I was comfortable with on my old set, and wet weather grip is outstanding. I find it difficult to get any loss of grip when I'm actually trying to.

Dry grip is so-so, with very slight loos of traction during very sharp and long corners (ie, heading twice around a roundabout). Thankfully they're easy to feel through and give lots of warning, I've never lost complete traction on these - even on one of my 'fun' drives.

They have very decent aquaplaning resistance, and don't give me nearly as much of a shock when heading through standing water at high speed as my previous set. Obviously not advised to keep doing it, but they definitely weren't as difficult to control when hitting a pool of water on a national A-road.

I haven't driven them nearly enough to comment on how well they wear, but I've no complaints so far.

As for snow and ice, thankfully we haven't had any. My car is so light I probably wouldn't get any kind of success, but that is no fault of the tyres. I would certainly feel comfortable with trying them in those conditions.

I can honestly state that these tyres have made all the difference in turning my car from a wet-weather nightmare to a safe yet involving drive. I can't recommend them enough and will be very eager to get them on my next set of wheels, if at all possible (sadly I think these tyres will actually outlive my car).
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-12 12:13:44
Writing about the GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 given 84% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Got a pair of these on the front of my AW11 MR2 cost $220 NZD fitted and balanced. i rate these grip wise similar to Potenza re11's and to be honest the suspension was finding it's limits before the Tyre did. under steer slowly rolls on predictability and grip is maintained in under steer situation's

tyre reviewed on 2016-02-02 22:28:00
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 83% (195-55-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
I purchased them cheap at Vulcantire.com for my 1989 Toyota MR2 for a few years back and love 'em. In all honesty I didn't like them at first, they seemed softer and less grippy then my previous 512's. But low-and-behold, after some time as the thread blocks became shorter these tire grip and handle the road very well...on road, wet road and on some mild snow situations. I'm actually going to buy these again...they're absolutely the best all-season for the buck!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-15 22:22:15
Writing about the Toyo R888 given 74% (185-60-14-)
Driving on track for 100 spirited miles
We are racing on these in the MR2 Championship. Some of the heavier MK2s have found the wear rate quite challenging, but the lighter MK1s are wearing well. We've raced in the dry at Mallory (excellent grip, tend to throw lumps off when hot!) and at Brands Hatch in the wet (very very surprised at how grippy and progressive they were in damp and greasy conditions, have not yet experienced large amounts of standing water). All in all have found it to be a good tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2008-04-21 15:38:01
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 36% (185-65-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
For the MK1 MR2 you cannot find a more lethal tyre in the wet.
Its worse than the Taiwanese cheap tyres for grip.
Had my car for 8 years now and have used it all year round, on track, cross continent and general everyday driving. The car has only ever spun it with these tyres on, not at excessive speed but at 10mph coming off a roundabout when I turned off, not once but around 1/3 of the time, it also slides on corners without letting you know.
The grip in the dry is very good, the feedback good, just the moment there is rain then you best start praying to your God that you are going to make it to your destination.
I removed my tyres ASAP and ended up with £15.00 part worns on the rear tyres instead and these were 1000% better in the wet, given they were a matching set of no name tyres.
I will now NEVER put Pirelli tyres on any vehicle that I own as I feel that their tyres have endangered my life.
In my opinion these tyres should never be put on a MK1 MR2 and anyone who supplies these to an MK1 MR2 owner as a decent tyre should be liable for any injury or damage caused.
DO NOT TOUCH THEM IF YOU VALUE YOUR LIFE, THE LIVES OF ANYONE ELSE YOU KNOW OR THE GENERAL POPULACE.
Cannot comment on wear as I had the tyres removed as soon as possible, I will use the tyres on the next track day and remove them from my life gladly.
Cannot comment on comfort as I drive quite hard and have lowered suspension and the car has a performance exhaust so cannot hear any tyre noise.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-05 10:53:23
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 20% (185-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Was recommended these as a replacement for the Goodyear Eagle F1's I previously had fitted. And decided to put them on the front but after 3 days of under steer dangerous handling in corners and no feedback I quickly put them on the rear where there still have less grip and handling than the originally warn out F1's. They are probably ok for a heavy car but AVOID if you plan to use them on a light sports car.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-11 11:09:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre