Toyota MK2 MR2 NA Tyres

Drive a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota MK2 MR2 NA
Yokohama A022 (1) 90% 80% 90% 90% 100% 90% 100% 91% 34,500
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83% 81% 84% 464,400
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (73) 87% 83% 82% 83% 79% 78% 80% 82% 777,465
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Falken FK451 (10) 79% 77% 73% 71% 81% 79% 87% 78% 119,010
Toyo R888 (33) 95% 69% 86% 85% 63% 59% 86% 77% 180,961
Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 (13) 91% 61% 82% 80% 74% 69% 85% 77% 79,524
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Falken ZE502 (1) 80% 70% 80% 80% 80% 70% 70% 76% 10,000
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Nankang Toursport 611 (7) 77% 50% 76% 71% 79% 74% 59% 69% 67,500
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (46) 80% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 66% 806,215
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482
Toyo T1S (10) 66% 49% 63% 57% 65% 65% 59% 61% 84,300
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61% 42% 52% 76,040
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55% 33% 50% 242,782
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47% 28% 44% 95,152
Triangle TR968 (67) 55% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38% 31% 42% 469,650
Rockstone Radial F105 (25) 38% 20% 33% 30% 54% 36% 21% 33% 392,000
Sunew YS112 (11) 34% 22% 21% 21% 19% 20% 12% 21% 49,490

Toyota MK2 MR2 NA Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 93% (225-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
The Car: Mk2 Toyota MR2 with a V6 conversion and LSD. Staggered set up with coilovers, 205x55 front and 225x55 rear on 16" lightweight wheels.

Price for these tyres vs performance is brilliant, having the heavier engine with torque on tap mounted in the back you really want progressive tyres and these deliver. Full of confidence. Turn in is brilliant and wet grip is also great, really impressed with the wet grip as I thought they would stumble.. On par with the T1R's and better in the wet. They have more grip than a lot of premium brands, don't let the word Ecorun put you off. They are not even driectional :)

I can't comment on the noise as my car is loud anyway, but vibration and harshness is fine even with the stiffer set up and lighter wheels.

All that said, they are not a track tyre. Worth buying again and I will continue to use these for the road. Versatile and high performing.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-02 20:36:01
Writing about the Yokohama A022 given 91% (225-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 34500 spirited miles
Actually the AO22 tyre.
Best tyres I have driven on with MR2. Allow for hard cornering and just stick as you throttle through. Endurance, time has come to change them after 34,500miles of fantastic driving. They are now on the legal limit. Not only did they cope with the snow and ice, they actually gave reassurance. Unfortunately, like all good things, they have come to an end and they are not producing them anymore. Struggling to get a decent replacement.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-06 12:14:51
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 89% (225-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
A lot of tyre for the money! As per the Falken 451's but slightly more grip in the wet. They wear well even with fast driving and repeated hard cornering, mine have done aprox 10k miles on twisty country roads and I still have about 3mm tread left,traction is very good even with hard launches and unlike some of the other tyres I've used they are very stable under heavy/emergency braking. Well worth a look if your after a great all round tyre!
tyre reviewed on 2007-07-06 15:33:53
Writing about the Falken FK451 given 84% (215-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres, had these front and rear and was very impressed with them considering they are supposed to be a buget performance tyre, good all round, lots of grip in the twisty bits, shoulder profile is also kind to the wheel arches of those with lowered cars! would definately recomend these and happy to use them again!
tyre reviewed on 2007-07-05 14:15:15
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 given 84% (225-45-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 average miles
I had these on my WRX also, they have more than enough grip, look good, cheap, and are quiet. there really is no better tire for those that want the ultimate street tire and auto-x on weekends. These have been successful in high competition auto-x street class, 'nuff said.
tyre reviewed on 2007-07-03 06:20:56
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 83% (225-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Good tires for the price with great grip in wet and dry conditions, Although next to useless in snow!!! Impressed with the wear, done 10000miles and still half the tread left. Changed my cars feel beyond all recognition would definitely buy again!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-07 10:15:55
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 77% (205-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Have used these tyres for fast road and even track use. No doubt there are grippier tyres about but these are a great all round tyre and certainly the best you can get for the price.
Sidewalls are a bit softer than other tyres, solved by running a slightly higher PSI.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-22 14:29:12
Writing about the Triangle TR968 given 77% (215-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I know a lot of people don't rate them but I found them an excellent choice on the front of my Toyota 1996 MR2. Being mid engine they suit the light front end of my car and has the added bonus of having a built in rim protector that most budget tyre don't have.
Unfortunate I now need a replacement due to a puncture rather then wear(4.5mm left after 10k).
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-26 20:36:42
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 77% (225-40-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
The 451's are very good tyres considering the price. I had these on the rear of my old MR2 for a good while. They looked and behaved much better than the budgets which were on before. Very good dry grip as you'd expect and pretty good in the wet too unless you really push it then they start to show their weakness. Seemed to last quite well, fair amount of tread left after 6000 miles. I'd consider buying them again but trying Toyo T1-R's next.
tyre reviewed on 2007-09-28 01:10:17
Writing about the Falken ZE502 given 76% (215-40-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
These are classed as a mid-range performance tyre and I was quite pleased with them for the money.
Grip in the dry was very good as you'd expect with good feel from the road. Wet grip was decent too, but not brilliant and they will let go if you push it too much.
I did have a minor issue with one of the tyres, the tread went out of shape for some reason, although this was after about 8000 miles. The other tyres lasted quite well.
Overall a good performer, worth considering if you're on a budget.
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-18 09:50:14
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre