Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster Tyres

Drive a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster
Nokian Line (63) 93% 91% 90% 90% 84% 87% 85% 88% 845,058
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (35) 98% 76% 92% 93% 75% 72% 94% 86% 206,505
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (77) 89% 86% 83% 85% 86% 84% 84% 86% 708,175
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (28) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 84% 166,100
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70% 91% 83% 161,925
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (24) 82% 82% 80% 80% 86% 88% 83% 82% 249,642
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (104) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77% 82% 82% 880,927
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (61) 91% 79% 83% 86% 68% 74% 83% 80% 676,515
Nankang AR 1 (18) 91% 50% 87% 89% 78% 74% 87% 79% 49,591
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Jinyu YW51 (16) 71% 71% 65% 60% 73% 71% 71% 69% 42,300
Marangoni Zetalinea (15) 72% 45% 64% 64% 68% 57% 51% 60% 118,500

Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian Line given 90% (215-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
I was dubious about what I read about these tyres but have not been disappointed. Handling in the wet is amazing and the car has never slid or had any unexpected oversteer no matter how I’ve pushed it .
These tyres are amazing and I will definitely be buying them again, done about 25000 miles and still got plenty of tread left, very quiet on the road. On the Mr2 roadster forums I have mentioned them for being so good but people just talk about the known brands and underestimate Nokian , dry handling is equally as good.
Had a set of Sunnis on before these which felt like you were driving on ice when it rained,
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-14 22:24:03
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
So far so good in the Mr2 Spyder 2zz NA, acceleration and cornering feels more stable & very grippy during spirited drives, wet grip is better than my old tires, very happy
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-15 10:24:03
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 88% (215-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
My car has staggered sizes, so this is also a review of 185/55 15 front tyres.

Brilliant tyres, straight up, but fairly hardcore. Great fun. You feel everything through the steering. These tyres fundamentally change the whole feel of my car. The steel reinforced sidewalls literally make the car feel like it's had stiffer suspension fitted. Ideal for enthusiastic drivers, but, understandably, they ride a little harder than average. To me, that's worth it for the razor sharp turn in.

They tramline a little on my medium profile front tyres - not enough to bother me, but you do notice. Anyone with 19" or 20" fronts on ultra low profile rubber should weigh that up carefully before pulling the trigger.

Dry grip and exceptional feel are these tyres' forte. Wet grip is OK (but I have separate winter wheels/tyres and would not advise pushing these tyres in cold, wet conditions). Feel in the wet remains good. 10/10 dry, 7.5/10 wet.

Sadly, these tyres have been discontinued, replaced by the AD08RS which has a lower rolling resistance. I hope this does not affect grip and feel. Time will tell. Looking forward to seeing some reviews on the RS.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-06 17:06:39
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 85% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
My car actually has staggered sizes, so this is also a review for 185/55 15 fronts.

Really pleased. Instantly felt planted. Got the car out on some tasty roads, and it delivered.

I got these all season tyres just for use over winter to avoid any hairy moments on frosty mornings in this mid engined vehicle. Summer tyres will go back on in April. I was deliberately seeking the sportiest feel possible from a tyre with snow and ice capability. According to the 2018 AMS All Season Tyre Test, usefully archived on this website, this Vredestein might just be that tyre. Although it came 5th out of 7th overall, the test awarded it best steering feel and a score of 9 for subjective feel - as good as the reference summer tyre (Continental Premium Contact 5). I wanted winter safety without really compromising sportiness and feedback, and I believe I have achieved that. These are actually more fun to drive on than the, admittedly pretty average, summer tyres I had before, and I think that speaks volumes. For a siped tyre to feel sportier than a summer tyre, even an unremarkable one, is a real achievement.

The much vaunted Michelin Crossclimate isn't available in my size, so I can't compare it. But everything I've read and what I experienced today out on some twisty back lanes tells me these are actually better; at least for enthusiastic drivers. There isn't any such thing as a sports winter or all season tyre in 15" sizes. But if there was, this would be it.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-17 00:58:26
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 given 80% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-10 22:03:58
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 80% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre for road use, both on dry and wet conditions, minimum amount of noise, very comfortable. Not intended for track use but they performed way above average on track for a simple summer tyre. They don't get overheated easily and will provide good grip on track, but they also heat up nicely on road also, after a few miles.

All in all, i would definitely buy them again for road use and would recommend to anyone, they are also very cheap. Maybe the best value for money summer tyre in the market right now. You can use them on track but not recommended as they wear much faster.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-17 11:20:58
Writing about the Toyo R1R given 76% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
Dry grip is amazing . Always wanted a tyre with such performance. It grips so well that pushes my suspension to the limits . regular suspension can not handle this amount of grip .
On wet , performs better that expected . i was afraid that it will fail on wet ( wet but not full of water ) surfaces but handles quite good .
On totally rainy and full of water roads just can not cope with the amount of water and aquaplans a lot so better just avoid driving it on extreme rainy days or take extra care when you have to ...
Another con is the wear. The thread was doing good till i made one track day ( about an hour of track driving ) . The rear ( RWD car ) tyres lost most of their compound and now are at their end of their life ( almost )
Overall ...i enjoyed this tyre a lot , usually when go out on the country side on mount road .
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-19 10:11:50
Writing about the Jinyu YW51 given 74% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Good winter tyre does the job . Very good value for money. Better than summer tyres in the snow
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-30 18:26:29
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 71% (205-45-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Great track tyre, great value for money, on the same class as R888 and R888R by Toyo. Not especially good in wet roads, of course not recommended for a daily driver due to noise, stiffness, warm up times etc. A great tire for the weekend track car and the occasional mountain road, as long as you warm them up a bit first, then push the car. I tried both 195/50/15 and 205/45/15 and i can recommend the latter, as they basically are a 215 width tire, branded as a 205. Can achieve the same lap times for 5-10 fast laps, then they need cooldown. Tread is very few mm, will wear down very fast if you hit the track often, but the dry grip stays high even when worn.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-19 15:42:49
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 63% (205-55-15-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Compared to the Michelin Exalto PE2, grip levels are excelent even better, there is no noise even at the limit. The side walls are too soft, you can feel the car moving at the enter of corners until the wall sets, thats not good for precission.

Wear at the front is normal but at the back I destroyed this tyres in just 3000Kms, 70% cruise 30% twisty roads.

Not planing on buying them again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-12 12:25:21
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre