Toyota Prius III Tyres

Drive a Toyota Prius III? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota Prius III
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (35) 89% 94% 88% 87% 87% 93% 93% 88% 269,300
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Nokian WR D4 (55) 85% 86% 81% 80% 66% 86% 74% 82% 415,243
Pirelli Cinturato Winter (5) 84% 92% 84% 84% 75% 78% 74% 82% 9,500
Continental ComfortContact CC6 (23) 80% 72% 73% 70% 79% 90% 74% 77% 386,235
Michelin Primacy HP (194) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,267,594
Yokohama BluEarth S34 (2) 70% 50% 55% 55% 50% 35% 15% 47% 17,000

Toyota Prius III Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D given 97% (205-50-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
It's hard to imagine a winter tire more capable than this in central European winters. Meaning rainy, cold, freeezing and snowy. Variable conditions require a tire to be good in all winter domains. This Dunlop 4D is the best winter tire I have ever used. It's even rather comfortable even against an all season or summer tyre. That is no easy task. I'm sure thee are better tyres in the rain, or ones that are better pure snow tires. But this is the best all rounder I have experienced. It's even transformed a understeering machine Prius, into dare I say something confidence inspiring.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-04 18:40:42
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato Winter given 91% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
About a month ago I fitted these winter tyre on my Prius. I was deciding between GoodYear Ultra Grip 9, Michelin Alpine 5 and these and in the end chose these as they came with a good price and the tyre dealership told me that they are really good tyres. With my mileage I should really be satisfied, plus I was also looking for a very good tyre in wet and on ice (most of the time in winter in our country, roads are wet and with possibility of black ice). I had the chance to drive these tyre in all possible weather scenarios, dry, wet and snow and they were great.
Maybe only downside is that they got a bit louder after first few hundred miles but luckily are not getting louder anymore. The fuel consumption is so so but then again, in winter car does need a bit more to warm up and to keep the passenger area warm. I will probably write another review after the winter, hopefully I will stay satisfied.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-12 16:48:34
Writing about the Nokian WRG2 given 90% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Great, great tyre and most important it's much cheaper then its rivals. The only downsize for this tyre is that is kinda noisy and nothing else. Great on wet and dry roads, perfect on snow. Would definitely recomend!
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-12 13:54:36
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 90% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 75000 average miles
Here in Italy it is the law to have winter tyres from 1st Nov to 31st March, so this was my first purchase of winher tyres, as previously I always carried chains.
First purchased in November 16, as strongly recommended by my fitting station.
The boss was so confident that I would like them, he said he would change them to whatever, within 500km if I wasn't satisfied.
For work I travel extensively in Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Austria and France and cover on average about 100.000km a year of which half are on winter tyres.
The first most noticeable difference to the Conti summer tyres, was that they were significantly quieter at speeds under 80KPH (50mph) and also the odd pot-hole incident tended to be a softer collision.
First snow was in Italy/Austria in Jan 17, and the grip and control at 60/70kph was faultless.
Later when this same snow turned to slush and froze, the ride was a bit like holding on as the car jumped about between the corregations.
To date, I have covered about 120.000km on these tyres and as they are now between 3 & 4 mm of depth left, I intend to change them for another set in the coming days.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-05 12:15:45
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 89% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I got these tyres when I bought the car, used. At first, I must admit, that I was quite sceptic. The thread and profile of the tyre looked thin, with not enough profile. The first braking on the wet was terrifying but after a week or so I checked the tyres with my tyre-dealer and we also checked the pressure and was too low. He explained, that these are very good tyres, made in 2014 and that they should do good, he even said, that these are one of the best tyres. After the pressure was set to the right one, the drive was just perfect. Excellent grip in dry and wet, also quite nice to the fuel consumption as well. Maybe a bit on the loud side, but nothing extra. Did almost 10000 miles with them over the summer and when I changed them with winter tyres, tyres dealership told me that I have nothing to worry for next season, as they look really good, with enough profile.
They are quite pricey but if the finances will allow it I will surely buy another set of these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-12 16:41:30
Writing about the Continental ComfortContact CC6 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 9000 average miles
had these tyres in China on my Honda, its definitely the best tyres you can ever had. Love the quiet driving experiences and great grip. Now i'm in UK and wondering where can I buy these tyres?
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-06 22:33:41
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato Winter given 62% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
These are my first Pirelli winter tires ever tried on my car, although I evaluated very good on other cars the Sottozero II series for its outstanding performance. In previous year I always adopted Dunlop Winter Response and I was fine with it, quite, very good handling and steering, only defect was the wear, quite short, therefore after purchased two times of them I wanted to try something different. Cinturato Winter was just out this year, and all the specs like noise and grip were even nicer than Dunlop tires, that's why I chosen them. Unfortunately they are everything than I expected, very noisy, with my car such aspect is amplified so much that sometime I think I'm driving a Wrangler with tarmac tires, with also an unexpected high fuel consumption, almost 20% more than the Dunlop. The handling is likewise annoying, I can't realize if such tires got a very soft side wall or it just has too much tread, if you steer energically you can clearly feel the tires need a telegram to start lay the necessary area to the asphalt, with a vacuum between your input and the action. I cannot say anything about wear as I just got them two weeks ago, and the only positive aspect so far is the grip which is nicer than Dunlop, also the lose of the grip is smooth and progressive. In conclusion? If nothing changes in other thousand miles I'll change them with my old friend Dunlop.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-09 13:47:52
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth S34 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
These tires came as OEM on my 2016 Toyota Prius Three Touring. Dry grip seems adequate. Wet grip is not as good, as the car seems to slide in wet surfaces when turning even with traction control and vehicle stability control. I guess because they are an ultra low rolling resistance tire they are harder and this causes the slippage. In my 2010 Prius, I used Yokohama Avid Ascend and had excellent all around driving with outstanding wear and ride. I have only 15,000 miles on these tires and will probably switch to the Michelin MXM4 for the next set.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-28 15:31:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre