Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI
Yokohama Advan Sport V103 (5) 100% 97% 93% 93% 87% 93% 93% 94% 71,500
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Toyo Proxes TR1 (7) 86% 66% 77% 84% 76% 76% 83% 78% 33,500
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Cooper Weather Master SA2 Plus (3) 75% 75% 60% 65% 70% 80% 55% 69% 4,008
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (26) 82% 65% 64% 68% 71% 66% 57% 68% 249,662

Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-08 17:07:04
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 94% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Really good tyre. Dry grip great as expected, weat grip amazing. Very happy with small wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-02 23:16:02
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Sport V103 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Comfortable, good grip, good wear
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-05 10:26:55
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 87% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Fitted to a modified MK5 GTI, these tyres are as well rounded and damn near as perfect as you've heard. Very high grip limit in the dry and wet, simply superb feedback. Wear has been the biggest downfall with 2000kms per mm of tread for me, to be fair that is with pretty aggressive driving. I would be happy to use them on a trackday or autocross and definitely buy again. My biggest complaint but not really an issue is that they are quite a bit noisier than I thought they would be.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-02 04:28:47
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
5 stars
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-20 18:17:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-01 14:17:00
Writing about the Cooper Weather Master SA2 Plus given 62% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
First off, note that the WM SA2+ actually refers to two different tyres, produced by two different plants by Cooper. Sizes 13-16" are made in a factory in Serbia, speed rating T (190km/h), while 17" and above with higher speed rating are made in the UK. The two models have different rubber compound and tread design (this can be seen on cooper website) and in my view should deserve different name, this is not a transparent marketing approach by Cooper. Anyhow to the review, my tyres are 16" T-speed rating fitted on a golf GTI. Overall the grip is surprisingly good in both dry and wet the car sticks to the road much better than I expected (haven't tested in snow or sub-zero temperatures). The comfort is pretty good and noise level average. On the bad side of things, the road feedback is really not the best and handling is rather underwhelming. In a spirited entry to hard corner the car nosedives. During the usual spirited drive in and out of the city the suspension feels "wobbly", and the steering feedback is nothing more than passable. Overall I would not buy this tyre again for a hot hatch, but it should be a perfectly fine choice for a small city cars.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-20 12:52:19
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 47% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Not happy! I’ve just swapped from Bridgestones to 4 new P Zero GT’s on my mk6 gti.
They have quite simply ruined any sportiness the car had. Even at low speeds on roundabouts the car flops sideways, front first, followed by the back.
They sport setting on the dynamic chassis control feels softer than it used to on comfort!
They grip fairly well and braking is good. I presume they have a good compound rubber, but with a very soft side wall (as if it were a soft winter/snow tyre) so the whole experience utterly shocking.
I feel if turn too hard they would fall off the rim. I’ve lost all confidence in the car in any cornering.
Do not buy these if your car is even half as sport as a gti. I can only imagine these working on a soft family mpv. Total disappointment.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-25 14:35:17
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 40% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
I have never encountered a tyre that slips as much as this tyre - Cant make it for a few hundred meters without the tyres slipping when I press the gas pedal...
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-25 07:50:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre