Volkswagen Passat Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Passat? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Passat
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (48) 90% 91% 86% 87% 86% 90% 90% 89% 363,130
Continental Premium Contact 6 (36) 95% 91% 88% 91% 82% 87% 82% 88% 167,380
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (51) 88% 90% 86% 79% 91% 90% 91% 87% 359,525
Michelin Alpin 5 (17) 85% 94% 86% 77% 87% 91% 89% 86% 119,100
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (4) 80% 93% 80% 87% 87% 73% 83% 83% 91,500
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
Nokian WR D4 (55) 85% 86% 81% 80% 66% 86% 74% 82% 415,243
Michelin Primacy 4 (50) 86% 85% 77% 79% 85% 87% 73% 82% 723,030
Tigar Tigar UHP (9) 90% 75% 73% 81% 66% 90% 82% 80% 45,600
Vredestein Ultrac Cento (22) 83% 78% 76% 73% 86% 82% 79% 80% 243,204
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Michelin Energy Saver (114) 84% 74% 76% 72% 86% 81% 73% 78% 2,550,208
Sava Eskimo S3 (30) 73% 65% 70% 71% 77% 75% 78% 77% 460,000
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72% 72% 76% 299,307
Bridgestone Turanza GR100 (4) 83% 80% 78% 65% 73% 78% 73% 75% 45,050
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (74) 86% 81% 79% 78% 56% 74% 58% 73% 614,626
Goodride SW608 (5) 80% 74% 74% 66% 72% 70% 78% 73% 29,004
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Mohawk M105 (4) 75% 63% 68% 53% 75% 53% 55% 63% 18,356
General AltiMAX HP (11) 75% 64% 60% 52% 55% 61% 48% 59% 127,905
Fullrun Aderenza ADZA88 (7) 77% 34% 54% 54% 77% 63% 36% 56% 70,400
Nankang Green Sport Eco 2 (2) 65% 55% 10% 20% 60% 55% 55% 46% 34,000
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 44% 869,429
Westlake SA 07 (4) 73% 30% 33% 35% 45% 60% 33% 44% 9,000
Nankang Eco 2 (4) 58% 53% 50% 35% 23% 53% 33% 43% 36,012
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289
Nankang S600 (9) 63% 38% 49% 48% 71% 43% 41% 41% 23,510

Volkswagen Passat Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 96% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 average miles
These tyres are Conti Seal and they are the original equipment on my car. At 38,000 miles they still have some life in them. I have swapped them round regularly (every 10000 miles or so) with the full size spare wheel, which has similar wear to the rest. Tread depth is 3mm so needing to be replaced soon. They are also approaching 4 years old.
These Conti seal tyres have not yet had a puncture so I have been unable to test the effectiveness of their self-seal quality.
The only disappointment is that on rough road surfaces they are noisy but aren't all tyres? I put this down largely to the tyres being pretty big and therefore having a lot of road surface contact, and a relatively low profile.
I will replace all tyres soon with the same type.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-23 10:14:16
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 96% (215-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
These tyre's are just excellent. I used these during the winter in Ireland since beginning of December 2012 and loved them. I had great trust in using the car in cold winter weather simply because of these tyre's. On days when I had planned to go up Dublin mountain, it snowed BUT I kept my plans because I knew these tyres where up to it. I even had an emergency breaking situation in heavy snow and the car stopped dead from 60 km/h, very little slip and always felt in control.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-27 14:30:13
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 5 given 93% (205-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-25 06:51:24
Writing about the Kleber Quadraxer given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 42800 easy going miles
I Bought these in December 2012 for winter use - didn't bother to change them in March 2013 as I had got used to the feel of them - I am still using them in March 2014 having done 42,800 miles on them and they still have 5mm on the front and 6mm on the back. They are not as good in the dry and hot conditions as summer tyres - but hey drive sensibly keep your distance and they are perfect - you will use less fue too (2011 Passat Estate 1.6 diesel LS model averaging 55.6mpg over total distance to date of 77,800). Will never buy another type of tyre.

Oh yes - they are superb in the snow.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-10 14:57:28
Writing about the Nankang Green Sport Eco 2 given 93% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 easy going miles
I do around 6,000 miles a month as part of my job is driving up and down the country 5 days a week. I own a Volkswagen Passat 2017, and previously owned a 2013 model. On the old model I always used to have Pirelli tyres on it, and they would last me about 28,000 miles on the front and around 40,000 on the back. On my new passat for the past 1 and a half years I have owned it, the odometer reads just over 102,000 miles. On this Passat I have always put Nankangs on after the first continental set that came on it. Nankang Eco-2+ last me 24,000 miles on the front, and 40,000 miles on the rear. I was shocked by the results of my mileage and also the wet grip as well as dry grip performance, as well as saving £20 per tyre compared with the Pirellis, which were the same size on my old passat. I would say Nankangs are probably the best middle range tyre money can buy as well as being priced well. I pay £49.99 each at my local tyre garage and they also come with lifetime warranty. I cannot recommend these enough!!!
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-10 00:33:41
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Cento given 91% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
Have these on 1.9 tdi vw passat....love them....got 25000 kms out of them with fast aggressive driving,hard cornering..... 3mm still remaining....have contisport contact 5 before and lasted only 12000 kms for me....so way better....dry grip is outstanding....progresivenes is excellent too....braking and acceleration on staright line is perfect.....slightly less grip on wet compared to dry...as per the wet braking C category but its not too bad...i would say good,not excellent...sound is ok....nothing disturbing your comfort.....will definitely buy them again and recommend to everyone especially with heavy cars....
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-15 21:55:02
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 91% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Quality tires. Very good wet grip and very good response when under pressure. Really premium stuff
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-04 06:51:02
Writing about the Tigar Tigar UHP given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
It is my first time to buy budget tire, the cheapest tire that I have bought before was Hankook and was disappointed.
Tigar UHP is very good tire, I recommend it and I would definitely buy it again. Very comfortable tire and very good dry grip.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-30 22:03:53
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 89% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-14 10:39:16
Writing about the General AltiMAX HP given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26875 spirited miles
Bought my tyres (UHP version) and have religiously rotated at every 10000km. Currently doing 43000km. Not bad considering the treadwear indicator is only 280.
They replaced a full set of Bridgestone Turanzas that had 3mm-4mm on them. The reason being the car was very twitchy on wet roads and I definitely had no confidence on icy roads with them. That changed completely on these tyres. Now before anyone says that this is an unfair comparison the tyres now have 3mm in front and 2mm in the rear. They too became nervous (only in the wet with standing water) at 3mm. Otherwise I am very happy with them.

I use the car equipped with them in all conditions and now that I am getting ready to replace them will definitely consider getting another set. After all this is really a Continental subbrand that I have done over 40000km with.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-26 23:49:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre