Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 SUV (1) 90% 90% 80% 80% 100% 100% 100% 91% 15,000
Cooper Zeon 4XS (6) 88% 88% 92% 78% 90% 90% 97% 89% 29,000
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (20) 86% 81% 83% 82% 84% 89% 83% 85% 80,110
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (15) 88% 86% 85% 85% 81% 77% 85% 84% 177,700
General Grabber GT (14) 89% 83% 78% 73% 88% 82% 83% 82% 184,207
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV (10) 90% 83% 88% 84% 63% 90% 71% 81% 75,150
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (63) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86% 90% 77% 725,444
Avon ZX7 (24) 88% 85% 81% 77% 57% 80% 62% 76% 152,956
Bridgestone Blizzak LM80 (3) 63% 70% 77% 70% 90% 80% 67% 74% 16,000
Accelera Iota (35) 80% 68% 65% 65% 72% 66% 73% 70% 449,210
Yokohama AVID ENVigor (4) 85% 80% 80% 70% 65% 68% 70% 69% 10,025
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (62) 79% 64% 69% 62% 72% 63% 60% 67% 924,589
Jinyu CrossPro YS82 (2) 70% 50% 65% 55% 80% 75% 55% 64% 9,000
Haida HD921 (32) 60% 43% 48% 47% 49% 39% 32% 45% 196,100
Prestivo PX X1 (1) 70% 10% 40% 20% 0% 50% 10% 33% 1,000

Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the General Grabber GT given 97% (275-45-20-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 36000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-22 18:20:45
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 SUV given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
It’s hard to give an SUV tyre on a Touareg a handling score however they definitely felt much more planted than the Pirelli Scorpions before them. A very quiet and efficient tyre that performed very well in nearly every condition. Mostly stop start town miles and after 2 years and 15,000 miles the tyre treads are at 4mm all round. My P Zeros on a previous car lasted less than 10,000 miles. My only criticism of the tyre is it’s terrible performance in snow. Despite the 4 wheel drive these give little or no grip on light snow or ice. It’s probably the only reason I’m eyeing the Michelin Cross Climate for my next tyre otherwise I’d 100% recommend these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-19 23:16:13
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 90% (275-45-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 36800 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-12 18:32:39
Writing about the Cooper Zeon 4XS given 90% (225-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Tried Cooper and will buy again. Wear rate is brill. Have used in the past Pirelli, Continental,Toyo and Michelin. Cooper is half the price of Michelin for similar performance and use.

Only changing tyres early as down to 2.5mm and it's the rainy winter season.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-21 15:38:51
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme given 89% (275-45-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 average miles
In March 2014 we purchased our first VW Touareg 3.0 V6 Diesel, we previously had a Mercedes ML and had some issues with the tyres. We wanted a four season tyre for our 275/45 R20 wheels but couldn't seem to find any for such large wheels.

We went onto the web to try and find an appropriate tyre, but just ended up more confused! I spoke to my local tyre fitting expert Jeff Fowkes Wheels Ltd in Ibstock Leicestershire and he suggested that I take a look at the Vredestein Wintrac Extreme.

I immediately expressed surprise as spring had sprung and summer was coming, I was told that they could be left on all year round and they would still perform well. I was a little sceptical but went ahead with the purchase and we have now enjoyed just over 26,000 on the same set of tires, they are not particularly noisy and we haven't had any issues with performance at all.

Apparently the front tyres have around another 3,000 miles or so left in them (6mm left on the rears and 5mm on the fronts) before we need to think about replacing them, we were advised to run them at around 40 psi rather than the 35 psi we were running them at to give a bit more support to the side walls, the front passenger side one has worn the outside edge away (apparently this is a Touareg thing) and we were advised to have the tracking checked and corrected which we did. It was also suggested that we should have rotated the tyres (front to rear) each twelve months to equalise the wear, which we didn't do, but will in future.

the Wintrac Extreme has now been replaced by the Wintrac S Extreme and we will be fitting another pair of these on the front in around three months time and will continue to run these "winter" tyres all year round. For those who are fortunate enough to have the space to store winter and summer wheels, the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti is an excellent summer tyre, good value and also lasts for a good few miles!

I hope that this helps people who are having the same dilemma as we did!

Michael
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-30 10:08:14
Writing about the Haida HD921 given 88% (275-45-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
ive only done 3000 klms on these tyres the rubber feels soft , ive only had 60 sets of new tyres, on the 75 cars ive ever ownd, but these tyres im still reviewing, good value for money, there on a v6 touareg with 550nm that should sort the men from the boys !!!
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 09:01:44
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM80 given 87% (265-50-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
great tyre in the snow and ice, also just as good during the spring/summer as I didn't change them off the car. wear rate is excellent and really cant fault them, will definitely purchase again
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-15 14:35:33
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 given 87% (255-55-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 spirited miles
Very good snow grip and surprisingly quiet.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-14 08:36:14
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV given 87% (275-45-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 13000 average miles
I’ve gone through various tyres on various cars and never written a review. I initially wanted to buy the LS2 all season tyre which was out of stock so rather than waiting I opted for the 2017 Eagle F1 Asymmetrical SUV XL tyre from Goodyear. I’ve been very pleased. Noticeably quieter than the continental sport contact 5 and various Hankook and Pirelli tyres. The wear is excellent. I’ve still got close to 5mm after 2 years use and newrly 13k miles. Very comfortable low noise and good grip. I’m driving a VW Touareg 2016 model so I’m not exactly throwing it about but it grips well when required
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-13 23:55:50
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 given 83% (275-45-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 spirited miles
I'm not too sure what to expect tyre wear wise regarding my VW Tourag 2008 3.0 V6 TDI I have only had it 7 months. Had these tires fitted 6 months ago and had a full tracking and alignment check and adjustment..
We have just covered 8,000 miles on them and the rears are approaching 3mm rapidly, fronts are 5mm.
Tyre wear is even across the axles. No inner or outer wear.
That said the performance of these tires in the dry and wet is just amazing. Its just the £700 a set for I reckon 9500-10,000 miles is worrying. But may be this is the norm.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-14 20:33:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre