Volkswagen up! Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen up! ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen up!
Nokian iLine (14) 94% 91% 87% 77% 91% 96% 90% 89% 81,500
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Avon ZV7 (63) 87% 83% 75% 72% 78% 83% 78% 80% 319,406
Toyo NanoEnergy 3 (16) 83% 72% 75% 79% 80% 83% 82% 79% 214,265
Hankook Kinergy 4S (10) 78% 72% 69% 69% 79% 81% 75% 76% 98,500
Continental Premium Contact 5 (101) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 80% 66% 76% 1,104,638
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Continental Premium Contact 2 (181) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,185,189
Bridgestone Ecopia EP100 (7) 76% 66% 68% 57% 73% 70% 51% 66% 120,350

Volkswagen up! Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 92% (185-55-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced Toyo NanoEnergy 3s which I ran for about 30,000km. They were replaced not due to wear, but because the wet grip reduced dramatically and tyre noise and impact harshness increased.
PS3s were the best performance tyres available in this size, so I bought a set!

Ride comfort over sharp imperfections in the road (such as reflectors) has improved markedly, and surprisingly road noise seems lower (even though the Toyos had a 69dB rating, where the Michelins are 70 or 71dB).

Steering feel and immediacy has taken a dramatic leap forward with these tyres. Steering feel on initial turn-in is light but quick, and weight builds progressively as steering angle is increased. Now the Bilstein B12 kit fitted to my car really shines! My up! is now an overgrown go-kart.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-08 02:09:37
Writing about the Toyo NanoEnergy 3 given 85% (185-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 850 average miles
Had NanoEnergy 3s fitted for a couple of weeks now and have put almost 1000km on them. They replaced a set of Continental PremiumContact 2s which were a very good tyre that lasted surprisingly long (65,000km). The NanoEnergy 3 is significantly quieter than the Continental and grip levels feel similar (possibly more grip with the Toyos) with a special mention to wet grip which is exceptional for a touring tyre – the Toyos get four water evacuation grooves compared to the Conti's three.
The NanoEnergy's again are very quiet and are very comfortable, but do give a 'boatier' feel than the Contis did: they are more comfortable, but less involving as they give less direct feedback. The Toyos also have a 420 treadwear rating compared to the Conti's 280, which should mean they will last a fair bit longer than the Contis did. Overall however, I am extremely happy with the NanoEnergy 3s and will continue to use them on my cars.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-07 13:48:03
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 83% (185-55-15-)
Driving on for 0 miles
Driven around a thousand miles on these ZV7s and absolutely love 'em. I know it's only a VW High Up! but grip is great in both wet and dry and equal or better than the Contis it came with. The big difference is how quiet they are, can't really comment about wear as it's such a light car and not a huge mileage. Recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-06 23:40:31
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 80% (185-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I replaced the front Bridgestone Ecopia tyres with the Conti premiumcontact5 tyres. I was drawn to these tyres as they promised more grip and I can confirm that they perform much higher than a premium eco tyre. I have noticed greater wear (although that could be because I am enjoying them more!) and a reduction in fuel economy on motorway drives but in an urban environment I have noticed an increase in fuel economy due to being able to carry greater momentum around corners. The tyres even performed much better than expected in the deep snow in the New Forest in February, being able to wade through 8 inches of fresh snow with ease!
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-06 19:29:38
Writing about the Nokian iLine given 74% (165-70-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 easy going miles
Fitted to my VW Up and having experienced several Nokian tyres before, I still feel it is a good buy.

Although I have seen some tyres in this size which have lower rolling resistance and thus better fuel economy, the Nokians seem unbeaten on wear. Currently lost only 2,5 mm after approx. 20.000 km (12.000 m).

My previous Fiesta had 195 section Vredesteins, and stepping back to a narrower tyre the difference in turn-in and grip shows. This can not be held against the Nokians though! You notice you run out of tyre faster, although grip and control is always maintained.

It's a safe tyre, not a sporty one. Noise is very subdued although that can be down to the sound insulation too.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-16 08:24:27
Writing about the Bridgestone Ecopia EP100 given 64% (175-65-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
Dry grip and wet grip are both OK. These tyres feel safe and comfortable when driving around the city or on motorways, but the handling is so-so (but manageable) on twisty B-roads and there is a lot of tyre squeal when cornering, even at very low speeds in multi-storey car parks.. So far they've lasted 35,000km and I expect to get another 10,000-15,000km. Overall, these are a fine general purpose tyre ... unless you enjoy driving with gusto when the opportunity arise. But if you're a sedate driver, the EP100s are more than fit for purpose.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-01 05:40:22
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S given 44% (165-70-14-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Dangerous in wet breaking. ABS always on, wet seems snow. Bad even in dry roads. Never again
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-24 01:27:38
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 30% (185-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
Bought 4 to replace Continental Premium Contact 2s and been disappointed from the start. Car slides when taking corners wet or dry to the point that worry about lose control. Regret selecting these and if could get money back I would but tyres don’t come with that. Have had to modify driving style because of these. Already showing signs of wear after 3000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-20 03:32:58
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 23% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
An update to my earlier review from July where I replaced four Continentals with Toyos. In 3000 miles the sidewall developed a small hole in the side. Showed it in two tyre centers and they both said the same thing that Toyos have very rigid sidewalls and being made in Malaysia not suited to British climate. So I wasted my money on buying another to keep the matching four but if another one fails I’ll have to go with one odd tyre. In over 250,000 miles of motoring I’m a lifetime never had a sidewall develop a hole like that.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-18 07:24:46
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 0% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 13000 average miles
Good tyres, at first, after 2 years of normal driving cracks began to appear in the bottom of the tread grooves. These just got worse and forced me to replace them after 13,000 miles as I lost trust in their safety.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-29 19:49:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre