Volvo 2005 S60 R Tyres

Drive a Volvo 2005 S60 R? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo 2005 S60 R
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84% 87% 78% 173,406
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82% 76% 76% 100,000
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801

Volvo 2005 S60 R Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 92% (235-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I couldn't fault these winter tyres, they're proper cold rubber, quiet, very good grip and at the same time safe on wet, dry and snow covered roads. On the downside I found them not great on fuel economy probably due to quite soft rubber compound but nothing drastic here. I've just ordered a new set for a 3rd winter in a row. I would recommend them to anyone.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-27 23:09:56
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 89% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
These tyres are excellent, I love the asthetics of the tread design and the way it cuts through the wet. I had Pirelli P Zero's before and the side wall was weak and offered hardly any rim protection.

This is where the F1 leads, the Side wall is stronger and Rim protection is good. The grip is fantastic in the dry and is also great in the wet however its more noticable based on the wider the tyre the better.

Unfortunately the V tread pattern tyre has been discontinued so no more I am sad to say, my next tyre will be the F1 assym, which from what I have heard should be good. I hope Goodyear refine the V tread pattern style and bring the design back as it is a good looking tyre. I did notice that it was fotted to the Knight Rider Car KITT, which was shown in a american episode in February. Was this advertising?

Look forward to Goodyears further developments.

Happy Motoring everybody
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-25 17:36:24
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 87% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 115 spirited miles
I am just about to fit my 6th set of Falken FK-452s. I had three set on my Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 and am just about to fit a 3rd set to my Volvo S60 R. Given that both cars have over 300bhp and 4WD, I think the Falkens give exceptional life - I've never had less than 20,000 miles from a set and the best set lasted 24,300 miles. Wet weather grip is not compromised by such longevity and the directional nature of the tread ensures that standing water is dispersed quickly, with no aquaplaning. I would recommend these tyres highly.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-02 15:38:11
Writing about the Nankang SV1 Winter Plus given 57% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
These tires were ok in dry and wet conditions but extraordinarily poor in snow.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-25 17:08:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre