Volvo 240 estate Tyres

Drive a Volvo 240 estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo 240 estate
Toyo Proxes CF2 (62) 89% 87% 83% 83% 85% 86% 91% 86% 432,909
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (56) 90% 86% 84% 79% 82% 79% 86% 84% 368,862
Uniroyal Snow Max 2 (1) 80% 100% 50% 70% 100% 60% 90% 79% 5,000
Continental Premium Contact 5 (101) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 80% 66% 76% 1,104,638
Nankang XR611 (21) 64% 41% 55% 54% 69% 59% 52% 56% 434,620

Volvo 240 estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 given 85% (185-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Good grip in wet and dry, fairly quiet and comfortable.
Obviously I’m not pushing these tyres too hard in my boaty old Volvo, but they inspire confidence, have done well in a couple of emergency manoeuvres (no ABS, so good grip under braking has been important) and even got me through some snow recently.
I can’t comment on how they’d perform in a powerful car or under really hard cornering, but for my needs they have been great.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-24 00:21:50
Writing about the Uniroyal Snow Max 2 given 79% (185-80-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Slightly noisy, and stiffer, penalty paid for excellent grip in wet and snow.
No appreciable wear yet.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-24 18:28:02
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 78% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 200 easy going miles
Recently, I went from ContiPremiumContact 5 (CPC5) on all four corners to Hankook Ventus Prime 3 (HVP3) on the rear axle. I have done a couple of hundred miles in the dry, and under those circumstances, the HVP3 seems to be on par with the CPC5. Cornering feels fine, comfort is okay and they actually seem a little quieter that the CPC5s.

Wet grip and wear are yet to be determinded and the overall picture will become clearer once my car has the HVP3 on all wheels. The initial impressions seem promising.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-12 16:05:28
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 76% (195-65-16-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 easy going miles
I have reviewed this tyre (HVP3) before in comparison to the ContiPremiumContact 5 (CPC5) which I have on the other axle. I swapped them around a few times and kept notes (click on make and model car for my other reviews as this one is only on wear).

The 240 estate with an understressed 111 bhh engine isn't going to wear rubber in a hurry. I already wrote that the HVP3 isn't the best tyre when it comes to treadlife, but now I found something peculiar.
The HVP3 wears noticeably quicker on the rear axle than on the front. This would seem logical for a RWD car, but the CPC5 shows almost no difference between the two axles.

If this difference between front and rear wear remains the same throughout the life of the HVP3, it would actually be a worse tyre than the aleady infamous CPC5 (when it comes to treadlife, that is).

Even though this is a great tyre grip and comfort wise, mile munchers may be better off with another tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-01 10:25:10
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 74% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 easy going miles
Now that I have done about 3000 miles on the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 (HVP3), it's time to rereview them.

They are currently at the rear of a Volvo 240 Estate, while the ContiPremiumContact 5 (CPC5) are still at the front. In the mean time, the suspension has been upgraded making it a little stiffer and better handling than a factory original car, so now it demands a little more from the tyres in corners.

In my initial review I was positive about dry performance, and that hasn't changed. In corners taken at speed, the HVP3 matches the CPC5. After 3000 miles I can say that the same goes for wet driving. The HVP3 is a good tyre.

The main reason I switched from CPC5 to HVP3 was high wear of the former. In tests the hvp3 performed better. But on my car, the HVP3 has lost enough tread in those 3000 miles that I doubt it's going to have a much longer treadlife than the CPC5.
They lost 0.6 mm at the rear (driven) wheels while the CPC5s lost 0.4 mm at the front.

If wear remains linear throughout the tread life, I'll be looking for replacements in less than 25,000 miles.
I'm still planning on having HVP3s on all four corners to get a better picture, but that will have to wait a while as the CPC5's still have some life left in them.

To be revisited when I do a front/rear swap.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-12 08:17:58
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 63% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
On the performance part of the PremiumContact 5, I cannot really make a subjective review. A 240 estate in standard tune just is not a car that invites you to take it near the limits, and I have not been in an emergency situation demanding the most of the tyres. I will have to go on the test results for that.

Compared to my previous tyres (Maxxis and secondhand Firestones) the biggest difference is better comfort. Rolling noise is not particularly excellent and in bends I can hear the lateral forces on the tyres more than I was used to.
They are smoother on uneven roads, though.
Steering feels okay, though not particularly precise or with lots of feedback.
The one drawback is the longevity, or lack of it. I'm down to 3 mm profile on the oldest set in less than 20,000 miles of touring and that has me looking for other tyres when the time comes to replace these. The PremiumContact 6 is not yet available in sizes below 16".
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-31 18:06:25
Writing about the Nankang XR611 given 27% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
I reckon they're pretty terrible tyres.

I've got a Pirelli P6 on one side, and one of these Nankangs on the other, I bought the car like this. The tyre had 50% tread and is a 2010 make.

Hard braking, the Nangkang will lock up, creating an oversteer situation.
It is worse than the other 3 tyres on the car by a significant amount.

Wet grip is non existent, always spins.

It's a volvo 240 with 100HP but has no worries hitting 160 on the speedo with this nasty tyre.

Good for burnouts.

I know this "review" is dumb because I have mixed tyres but it really is the worst of the bunch.

Cars have a brake proportioning valve so that the rear wheels cannot lock under braking, there is a heavy bias towards the front, around 75 front, 25% rear.

This thing locks up in the dry before the fronts are even close. dodgy dodgy tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-30 06:02:34
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre