Volvo 940 turbo Tyres

Drive a Volvo 940 turbo? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo 940 turbo
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (31) 83% 90% 82% 84% 87% 91% 91% 89% 212,415
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 (3) 95% 100% 100% 67% 100% 63% 70% 85% 1,401
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Yokohama C Drive2 (30) 78% 71% 70% 68% 70% 81% 67% 72% 326,462
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60% 49% 60% 333,765

Volvo 940 turbo Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 97% (205-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 average miles
These tyres have been AWESOME for the past four years! Grip has been fantastic in all conditions. Pulled me through the last winter with only 3mm of tread left. Very quiet and comfortable. Good looking too.

Since wearing down to the legal limit I have been getting regular wheel spin when ragging it. But thanks to the ZE912's confidence-inspiring progressive nature and me possessing godlike driving abilities, when the back end has stepped out I have controlled it easily on the throttle without panic.

Just purchased the next ZE914 version. Should be good!
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-04 19:10:34
Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta 9 given 90% (185-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 621 average miles
Super loud tires and you can really hear the studs at low speed. My personal thought is that the sidewall is quite flexy and especially on this type of setup there is a lot of "floating". These disadvantages are quite easily made up for by an excellent grip on snow and ice. As my Volvo is an RWD car and quite happy to get it's tail out, these tires are great for going uphill on both snow and ice in a regular Norwegian winter.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-30 14:54:32
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 89% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Bought a set of goodyear ultra grip 9 winter tyres last year and had them fitted to a spare set of alloys. They were fitted to my rear wheel drive automatic Volvo 240 Automatic estate and are now fitted to my 1996 rear wheel drive automatic Volvo 940 estate.

In this spell of snow the grip is amazing and I haven't got stuck which on summer tyres I would of just spun the rear wheels on the slightest incline of snow.
On the Goodyears I can actually stop and pull away on snow covered hills. You can feel the tyre spin and then it bites into the snow. Braking is also very good. Steering is good too and feels safe. Frozen compacted snow which has turned to ice I did pass a stuck Peugeot partner and I went up the hilly lane with not much difficulty, just a bit more spin than none on snow. Slight spin then grip etc. If a steep hill and total ice no winter tyre would help unless studded. My car has no traction control or modern aids, just ABS.
I highly rate them and would buy again. There is no wear from last years use.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-13 23:07:50
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 87% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Excellent value for money. A good all round tyre of which i will not hesitate to buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2009-08-04 22:06:19
Writing about the Yokohama C Drive2 given 73% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
These tyres are alright. I'm not sure how they compare dynamically on the elderly ovloV but I'll provide what feedback I can. Obviously, given age of the car I'll give comparative impressions as well as outright facts.

These are not the quietest tyre but nor are they the noisiest. I'd say middling. Strangely, the ride is not a magic carpet given the name but I think they do rather well in damping some sharpness and small surface irregularities. There are plenty of worse tyres out there for ride and noise (Conti Premium Contact 2).

Given the car, the grip is still good even though they are 4 years old now and there is not any particular low temperature degradation in handling. Grip reduces somewhat in low temperatures but I rate that as middling.

Road feedback is good and the old car can be accurately set up to corner predictably at the limits of adhesion wet or dry. When the limit is reached, the handling is relatively benign and an understeering or oversteering attitude can be chosen with the throttle. Aquaplaning resistance is quite good and they track true enough and are stable to high speeds. There is no tramlining to note, nor are the tyres slip angles small enough to merit a sporting description but they are adequate. I'd like a little more bite under heavy braking but even with 3.5mm tread depth, it's still good enough.

In short, these are vice free tyres which excel in no areas but neither do they have any particular shortcomings. They are a bit older now though and as such should be discounted into the heart of mid price territory to make them a good buy.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-08 00:07:55
Writing about the Pirelli P6 given 21% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
First Time I have Bought Pirelli's and Was Very Dissapointed right from go.
A Below Average tyre at a premium price.
Below average cornering, ordinary wet grip, Cheapo Indonesian made.
Definitely not worth the extra $20 over other better average tyres.
Will never Buy Pirellis again!
Perfect for people who want to pay for the name.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-06 13:38:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre