Volvo C30 1.6 Drive Tyres

Drive a Volvo C30 1.6 Drive? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo C30 1.6 Drive
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (31) 83% 90% 82% 84% 87% 91% 91% 89% 212,415
Michelin Primacy 4 (50) 86% 85% 77% 79% 85% 87% 73% 82% 723,030
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (50) 84% 72% 79% 76% 92% 82% 81% 81% 1,320,183
Avon ZX7 (24) 88% 85% 81% 77% 57% 80% 62% 76% 152,956
Infinity Ecosis (9) 82% 74% 71% 66% 69% 78% 82% 75% 48,500

Volvo C30 1.6 Drive Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 96% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-04 22:56:52
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 93% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 12000 easy going miles
I used these tyres after UG7s (on 2005 Opel Astra 1.3 cdti), which made my life much easier in winter in Ankara (Turkey). I was living in a neighbourhood up on the hills and with steepy, narrow streets in which snow stayed like rock for weeks. UG7 created no problems, I kept moving while other cars stuck or slid back down the hills. That's why I picked Good Year UG9 when I had to buy a set of winter tyres for my new car (Volvo c30 1.6 D2). As expected, these were even better than the UG7s. Absolutely no problem in steering on fresh or frozen snow/ice, wet or dry (but icy) roads. The car clutched the surface as if it was summer with summer tyres on. More surprisingly, there was almost no change in fuel consumption when compared with Good Year Efficient Grip Performances I used between March and November. Moreover, I managed to avoid some crashes as the car could stop quickly no matter it was snowy or rainy. Another indicator of the overall perfect grip was the sign of the tracking control system which did almost never activate with UG9s on. Unfortunately, I could not find the size (225-45-17) for my new car this winter but still I sticked to Good Years and bought a set of UG Performance Gen 1 which did not have to cope with heavy conditions yet. But anyway, I am confident about the good years.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-04 08:40:24
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 87% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-27 07:36:03
Writing about the Infinity Ecosis given 85% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 easy going miles
Had these put on a couple months ago on my volvo c30. I was worried at first because of the price that they might feel a little unstable but I needn't have been dubious. They are extremely good under heavy breaking which I've had to do twice since they've been on. I have both times I was left thinking how good they performed. They feel very stable under wet conditions too.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-23 22:09:49
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver Plus given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40000 average miles
These were standard fitment on this car.

What they excel at is:

Motorway work, when they get nice and warm; in fact the longer the journey, the better.

Wear, which is negligible – after 40,000 miles the fronts have 4mm left and the rear over 5mm.

Fuel efficiency has been extraordinary, the car has average 58 mpg over 40,000 miles much of which has been on main roads/motorways travelling as quick as is reasonable. I have yet to see if the new tyres I am running (Continental Winter Contact TS830P) seriously affect the mpg.


What they are not so good at:

First long journey on a damp November A road got me nervous about their grip. I have never felt that I wanted to put these tyres to an extreme test; they just did not inspire confidence in col/damp conditions. Having said that they have never let me down or done anything really horrible.

Noisy, not unbearable but definitely there.

A hard and harsh ride. This has seemed to get worse as the tyres have worn. They are not meant to be a ‘performance’ tyre but they seem almost as harsh as one.


Would I buy them again or refit them after the winter?

Not sure about this. They do have some strong attributes, especially wear and fuel efficiency. However in terms of driving experience and enjoyment my new winter tyres are so much better, and it’s still 10c outside so not a ‘real’ winter yet, that I will have to seriously consider alternatives in the spring.

tyre reviewed on 2012-11-22 13:04:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre