Volvo C30 R Design Sport Tyres

Drive a Volvo C30 R Design Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo C30 R Design Sport
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (35) 89% 94% 88% 87% 87% 93% 93% 88% 269,300
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84% 87% 78% 173,406
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (122) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,619,302
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60% 49% 60% 333,765
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (125) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,243,457
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261

Volvo C30 R Design Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 96% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres, much better than the Continental SportTouch2 I had before them.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-19 12:58:07
Writing about the Avon Ice Touring ST given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Very good tyres. They make light work of deep snow and ice. You are able to pull away on banks covered with snow and ice no problem at all. An amazing thing about the tyres is their ability to accelerate normally. You get some curious looks too; of people wondering how he just did that in a normal car. The only thing that stops me is ground clearance.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-12 16:26:16
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 93% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
A very good middle of the road tyre. About £100 cheaper than top of the shelf brand tyres but performs exactly the same. Very happy with this tyres price verses performance. I will buy another set when this set wears out.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-25 12:51:58
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 93% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Just bought a set for my rears, have had them on the front for about a year and a half. I moved from UHP tyres to 'touring' tyres to improve wear rate - and it's definitely worked. The pay of is aggressive grip due to a softer sidewall. For daily driving these are great, not so good f spirited driving but that's not what they're made for.

I woul definitely recommend, iv not got them on all corners. Got loads of tread left after about 10k miles, only used a couple of mm
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-05 19:08:01
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Have these tyres on my C30 and they have been the best winter tyres I've ever had and I've had a far few sets on different cars over the 5 years we have been living up in the north Pennines of England. I've run these in every condition including a good few inches of snow in town and in the countryside and they are great with no problems at all, in fact you have more trouble standing up when you get out the car on the frozen compacted snow to get in the car than you do driving ! I've still got them on now and should really swap back to my summer tyres but if honest I've no reason to as the grip is ace and there no real noise difference just the softer rubber is likely to wear more I guess, but otherwise I'd just run them all the time. If you are here on this site checking what to buy for winter use then first I'd say get winter tyres they change the whole experience of winter driving and you owe it to everyone you take in your car to be as safe as possible and with that in mind buy these tyres, they might not have the price tag of the premium brands but they do have the more important performance to out class those premium brands
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-24 22:39:30
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 88% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
My experience of Uniroyal is in a friends car, but has prompted me to order a set of 205/55 R16 V91 Rainsport 3's. I have studied many, many reviews, looked at prices on every on line site available and come to the conclusion that these tyre are the best choice for me. I was amazed to find no garages here in Torquay sell these tyres, and most will only fit tyres purchased from them! I found one garage that will fit my tyres allowing me to buy at a bargain price online and have them fitted at local garage and old tyres disposed of etc. Pointless wasting money on the two other alternatives I considered, Goodyear Efficient Performance and Michelin Cross Climate. Looking forward to great driving even in UK weather.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-10 17:26:09
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 86% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-06 14:20:04
Writing about the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D given 86% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Brilliant, lots of driving on continent means these tyres are really needed. Having used conti's and Pirelli before these are the best used.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-13 18:49:11
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 84% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-22 13:05:48
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 79% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 average miles
Note: 1. I do not drive at the limit therefore my opinion on progressiveness should probably be ignored.
2. I have only ever driven this car using GoodYear EfficientGrip Performance

When I first had these tyres new there was virtually no road noise inside the cabin at 70mph on the motorway, this was consistent up until about 10,000 miles where the compound became significantly noisier.

Cornering is great, the car never feels like it's approaching the edge of grip when cornering at the same speed in the wet and the dry, traction is fantastic also with it being difficult to accidentally spin the wheels under hard acceleration from a stand still. Grip has not significantly reduced after 12,000 miles however I am replacing all four tyres after a puncture as the tread is getting near replacement anyway and the road noise was bothering me.

The tyres do introduce a little more roll to the car due to the soft sidewalls however with my sports chassis it has probably improved the ride in favour of comfort, what isn't so great about the soft sidewalls is that they bulge quite a lot, which helped cause a puncture when the tyre sidewall became pinched against a curb, tearing the tyre and leaving me with 122 miles to drive on a space saver.

I am actually buying these tyres again, mainly because they are so cheap compared to their rivals, I wanted to try out Michelin PS3s but I can't justify paying £30 extra per tyre when I know that the GoodYear EfficientGrip Performance will give me good, quiet, grippy, fuel efficient performance that caters to my high motorway mileage requirements.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-14 10:28:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre