Volvo C70 D5 LUX Tyres

Drive a Volvo C70 D5 LUX? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo C70 D5 LUX
Landsail LS588 UHP (56) 87% 82% 76% 75% 79% 89% 82% 81% 627,651
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (34) 81% 85% 82% 78% 76% 80% 83% 81% 412,700
Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue (28) 88% 76% 76% 72% 87% 76% 65% 77% 568,389
Michelin Primacy 3 (146) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,137,473
Infinity INF 05 (66) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45% 33% 44% 367,897
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Fullrun HP199 (74) 47% 27% 32% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 478,451

Volvo C70 D5 LUX Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D given 93% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
Amazing tyres - Using these in conditions below 7'c is where they come into their own element. Surprised to hear people are using them in the summer - they are not all season....

Ice, Rain (no snow yet) these tyres grip. below -3 and the rubber is still soft making the ride much softer than the all-seasons I had previously.

They are expensive but for the levels of grip and braking performance, they are more than worth it to protect my car and passengers.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-24 20:08:14
Writing about the Infinity INF 05 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
I have had these tyres (all round) for two years and roughly 12K miles split 50/50 between motorway and city driving. The treads are still very deep and the side walls are not showing any signs of excessive weathering or crazing.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-30 11:13:10
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue given 89% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100000 spirited miles
I've used these on my Volvo C70 D5, S80 D5, and a V70 T5 to cover 100k+

This is a touring tyre, and is the best I've used. As a touring tyre feedback can be a bit mushy compared to a modern sports tyre and they don't offer the same level of dry grip under very hard driving but to find these limits you have to be driving in a way that would get you immediately collared if the police saw you. Wet grip and braking is excellent too.

Tyre life is absolutely fantastic and almost unbelievably last twice as long on the front as other premium tyres I've used (Michelin Primacy etc). 30k on a set of front tyres on a remapped Volvo D5 vs 15K from the best of the other tyres I've used.

Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-23 13:06:53
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue given 83% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 22500 average miles
Superb lifespan from these, over 22,000 miles on the front wheels of a Volvo C70 D5. This is about 33% more than I got from Michelin Primacy 3s previously. Dry grip was excellent and wet performance also very good. Not a match for a modern sports tyre but very good indeed for a touring tyre with that sort of treadlife.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-02 21:03:32
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 71% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
These managed 14,500 mostly motorway miles on the front of my remapped Volvo C70 D5, with occasional spirited driving on proper roads. I'd say wear rate is high for a touring tyre.

Grip and progressiveness were good, and wet weather braking in particular was excellent. I did see a consistent improvement in fuel economy over the standard fit Pirelli P7s, although the Michelins wore out substantially faster.

In summary not a bad tyre but the
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-11 10:41:17
Writing about the Fullrun HP199 given 33% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 easy going miles
I've just bought a second hand Volvo C70 shod with these tyres. I hadn't checked the make when I did the deal and, to be fair, it probably wouldn't have made a difference. Having now driven the vehicle on various different road surfaces my initial belief was that the horrendous noise was what I should expect from my first experience of such a low profile tyre. Your reviews, however, make it abundantly clear that Fullrun tyres have a big problem with design and manufacture. I think it's fair to say that they definitely score high of wear, but I'm afraid I have no intention of keeping them long enough to become an expert on their grip credentials! I've decided to swap for a set of Falken 225 40 18s ZE914s and will report back in due course. So I'm hoping that your Fullrun reviewer who made uncomplementary remarks about 'Asian' tyres is wrong; I've used both Falken, Hankook and Bridgestone tyres in the past and been very happy.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-12 13:10:04
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 24% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
Probably the most dangerous tyre i've ever owned.

4 came new on a car bought from a main-dealer (cheap-skates seeing as the car was 20K)

The tyres are o.k in the dry, but you can feel them slipping on corners or pulling out of junctions.

In the wet / ice these are very dangerous, simply no grip from a tyre with 6mm remaining...

Tomorrow i'm going to be ordering a decent performance tyre... you get what you pay for!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-09 20:23:14
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 0% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
I drive 55 miles each way to and from work mostly on A roads but with a fast B road alternative, if traffic is heavy, for around 20 miles of the return journey. I have found that these tyres give good grip in both wet and dry, with very low noise, which was important for those times when I can lower the roof.

At first I was unimpressed with the feedback, but after replacing the front and rear drop links I find that the feedback is greatly improved. Feedback and progression are not quite what I find on my other car running Michelin CrossClimate+, but these tyres were less than half the price and they suit the more sedate nature of the less powerful Volvo - which is no sports car.

Overall I feel that these tyres are good value for money, although it is too early to comment on the wear rate.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-18 19:06:34
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre