Volvo S40 1.8SE Tyres

Drive a Volvo S40 1.8SE? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S40 1.8SE
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78% 88% 82% 65,313
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Nexen N Blue HD (10) 75% 70% 66% 58% 59% 57% 52% 62% 416,762

Volvo S40 1.8SE Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I've been used to Pirrelli P6000 and Goodyear NCT5 prior to trying the Rainsport 2 and I am so won over that I am going to bin my new Pirrellis on the rear and fit two new Rainsport 2's as this tyre is highly underated.
Wet grip is better than I could ever have expected and very similar in dry.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-30 13:00:00
Writing about the Matador MP 44 Elite 3 given 91% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Excellent tyres. Fantastic wet and dry grip! Quiet as well with sufficient road feedback. They are excellent value for money and perform very well.

Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-05 18:38:05
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD given 51% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Tyre noise was very low when first fitted but after 4,000 miles the noise off the front tyres is much louder, to the point of being noticeable at 25-30mph and unbearable by 50mph. Noise is definitely increasing with wear, which doesn't look like it will be much more than 10K on the fronts, and possibly 15k on rears. Having to seriously consider replacing fronts due to road noise and would not buy the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-30 15:46:36
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 33% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I have had these tyres on my Volvo s40 1.8 for about 5000miles and i can't compliment them in anyway! the reviews I read on these before buying them were excellent but now that I have them on and they are worn in they are shocking!!! they constantly spin and I'm not an aggressive driver and going round bends they might as well be bald! the back end always goes out and they can't handle the car at all they under-steer like hell. much preferred my Goodyear hydra grips. really wouldn't recommend this to anyone with a decent size car!
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-18 18:28:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre