Volvo S40 2.0d Tyres

Drive a Volvo S40 2.0d? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S40 2.0d
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (56) 90% 86% 84% 79% 82% 79% 86% 84% 368,862
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80% 78% 81% 1,412,351
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (122) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,619,302
Jinyu YU63 (38) 79% 66% 71% 69% 77% 74% 73% 73% 195,354
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Yokohama BluEarth AE01 (22) 79% 73% 76% 68% 59% 75% 68% 71% 213,712
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624
Pirelli P 7 (78) 80% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66% 58% 69% 1,791,753
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482
Infinity INF 050 (18) 64% 45% 57% 52% 76% 49% 48% 56% 147,500
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782

Volvo S40 2.0d Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Jinyu YU63 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
Had to replace 2 tyres on my S40 but when I got to the tyre fitter, these were so cheap, at £52 a corner it seemed rude not to change all 4 for matching ones. So far these are great, had Vredesteins on the front before and these are more positive on turn in and quieter all round. Mpg hasn't changed from before as far as I can tell so far but will keep an eye out.

For £208 for a whole set of 205/50/17 tyres fitted, I can't fault them. Goodyear Eagle F1's etc are double the cost at least but are they twice as good? I highly doubt it.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-13 01:23:00
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 90% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-05 17:30:10
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 90% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Great tyre, commensurate with the price. Very impressive in wet which is when a good tyre proves itself most. Very good level of comfort and noise. I guess there's a reason why they're getting OE contracts with major european manufacturers such as BMW now.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-14 13:11:46
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 88% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 easy going miles
Great tyre, much better than previous Dunlop SP Maxx. Very quiet, much more comfortable ride and has decreased on board computer fuel consumption by 2 miles per gallon within weeks! Picked up the BMW spec H rated tyres from the link on this site for a very reasonable price. Would definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-09 19:47:08
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 84% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Great tyres, especially in wet conditions, but only got 30,000km from a set though.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-30 14:24:35
Writing about the Pirelli P 7 given 83% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
mostly local travel but 20,000 has seen them to 1.6mm
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-10 10:56:06
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-29 10:25:22
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 76% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 spirited miles
Had these tyres on my Volvo on front axle. They replaced Goodyear's Efficient Grips tyres. After 11.000 miles they were down to 3mm. Got them replaced even if I didn't have to, because they became noisy by the end of their life and slippery as weel. When they were new I was happy with them.
Dry cornering was very good, braking as well. On wet they were very good too. Wear rate is bad, but it is with any soft sport tyre compound.
Would I buy them again? No. Don't get me wrong, the are good tyres, but there are better choices now.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-02 11:42:37
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth AE01 given 61% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
These tyres are on the front axle. They are quiet and comfortable. Grip is only average in dry, slightly worse in wet- but still ok. Wear rate isn't good either. Wouldn't buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-02 20:02:45
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 58% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
My car has enough torque to challenge tires (420+ Nm). Bought these because of the outstanding scores and excellent reviews in this site. Previously had Conti Premium Contact and Michelin HP, which are priced higher with similar or lower review scores.
As written in the Hankook product description, Ventus Prime 3 is a good touring tire... but nothing more! Do not expect sporty handling like Continental. Kook's sidewalls are way too soft, progressiveness is very bad. Hence if you need to take turns aggressively, the car feels like rolling on soft balloons - bad traction, bad predictability. When taking turns with higher speed, ones need to constantly play with the steering, otherwise the car will just bounce strongly from one side to another in random fashion and eventually get out of control. Traction in straight line though is good.
Can not comment on the wear part as I drive them just for month, but definitely miss the Conti sport performance.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-15 10:48:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre