Volvo S60 D5 (185) Tyres

Drive a Volvo S60 D5 (185)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S60 D5 (185)
Uniroyal MS Plus 77 (6) 90% 95% 78% 90% 80% 88% 98% 88% 48,005
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (155) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,425,323
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74% 65% 71% 630,469
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Rockstone Ice plus s210 (5) 68% 62% 60% 48% 68% 72% 68% 64% 26,500
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (47) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 55% 54% 63% 379,781
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50% 45% 59% 314,562
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (125) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,243,457
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782

Volvo S60 D5 (185) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 average miles
I replaced all 4 tyres last Autumn and have now done about 8500 miles since. These tyres made a big difference to steering, breaking and road noise on my Volvo S60 (185bhp) and I have been more than safisfied with them. As yet I have been unable to determine any wear to the tread!
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-03 10:26:58
Writing about the Uniroyal MS Plus 77 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Only had these tyres on the car two weeks, so cant really comment on wear other than we the Plus 66 on my wifes car and then are. The wet grip is unbealievable, driving on a motorway last weekend in driving rain and standing water, normally standing water "drags" the wheel none of that with the Plus 77 cut through it like a hot knife through butter. Very safe tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-03 09:29:11
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 spirited miles
I have used federals for 16yrs on various cars and 4x4s and I wont buy anything else if I can avoid it, when I have I can only say I have been disappointed, eg at present am running a Volvo S60 D5, bought it with pirellis, handling was unpredictable in wet and dry and no feel, replaced with Toyo, grip improved but little feel and pathetic in wet. Got Feds happy again, just love the feel and feedback you get and wet stability is best of any tyre I have ever used.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-19 01:06:02
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Great tyre, lasted 30K!!
15K on a Vectra CDTi
15K on Volvo S60
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-26 20:25:51
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 86% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Have done over 10k on these tyres and they still perform better than the previous P6000, with minimal tracking.
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-19 18:53:34
Writing about the Rockstone Ice plus s210 given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Even though Volvos have a 'Winter' function for their autoboxes (it starts in third gear to give more progressive torque), it was unusable in the snow of the last UK winter on the fitted Conti 6000's. Even the slightest slope in medium snowfall defeated it. I needed to get mobile quickly, and my local supplier suggested Rockstones at about £60 a corner.
Against advice, I only fitted two to the driving wheels, and they were a revelation. Worked well on all surfaces including hardpacked ice, and performed really well once the bad weather had gone. So well that I forgot they were on until I took my car in for a service in May!
Not noisy, good feedback, and gets you about once the white stuff comes down. Even though I had massive doubts when I fitted them, I'm going back in October for two more to fit them all round.
Hope this helps!
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-22 13:13:17
Writing about the Nexen N6000 given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
These tyres replaced Continentals costing £145 per corner, and I really am impressed by the way they perform. My main worry was road noise (I once bought some Wan Li's for a Vauxhall and they were dire) the Nexens are slightly noisier than the previous tyres, but only slightly. Grip in the wet and dry is first class, and they have yet to make me doubt my decision to buy.
Wear seems to be holding up well on the front drive wheels, but, like another reviewer here, the only downside to ownership is a dip of around 4mpg over the Contis.
Happy with them, and would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-22 14:01:01
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 69% (235-40-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 spirited miles
I have these fitted to my 2014 volvo S60 front,and have only done 7000 miles with them and they are down to 1.7mm.
I had done plenty of research but not on wearequest.
Stay clear of these if you have a performance car. Buy Bridgestone or Continental.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-02 15:54:21
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 56% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Fronts lasted 20k and backs 32k

Changed from P6000 to another brand to reduce tramlining on these 17"
tyre reviewed on 2009-07-03 20:44:17
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 average miles
Shocking wear rate on my car.

They were illegal after 6 months. 6K miles covered max, normal commuting.

I will not be buying these again. False economy in my opinion.

Switched to hankook instead.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-16 15:15:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre