Volvo S60 D5 R Design Tyres

Drive a Volvo S60 D5 R Design? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S60 D5 R Design
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (27) 94% 92% 89% 89% 85% 91% 93% 90% 91,760
Continental Premium Contact 6 (36) 95% 91% 88% 91% 82% 87% 82% 88% 167,380
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (57) 86% 81% 78% 78% 72% 78% 79% 79% 481,173
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Radar Dimax R8 plus (6) 78% 72% 63% 67% 63% 58% 50% 64% 56,100

Volvo S60 D5 R Design Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Satin given 93% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I bought a set of these recently to replace a set of Falkens that were already on the car at purchase. The Falkens were very noisy considering they were barely worn at all. The Satins are considerably quieter in that respect. Grip in dry and wet is excellent and they are considerably cheaper than the top brands so represent decent value for money in my opinion.
The only negative I have with them is that the tyre walls seem quite soft, maybe an unfair comparison as my previous purchases have been Contisport 6s and Pilot Supersports although admittedly not for this car.
Overall a very good tyre and I would be happy to buy again, I've currently done just over 2000miles on them and there are no real signs of wear yet, I hope that continues!!
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-19 18:07:48
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16300 spirited miles
Perfect traction control during cornering at high speed. Overall very good tyre in safety and performance aspect. I see only one disadvantage - high wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-25 11:27:23
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 83% (235-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 average miles
These came OE on my volvo. Good performance in dry and wet. I'm drive quickly, but no racer and they're already close to 50% thread depth at 12000Km so I doubt they will reach 30K Km.
Pros:
Both wet and dry grip, even in a downpour
Cons:
They are a bit noisy with a distinctive howl on the concrete roads and a good amount of thud on expansion joints. Know this is a performance tyre, but was expecting a bit more mileage out of them.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-15 14:45:15
Writing about the Radar Dimax R8 plus given 81% (235-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Bought 4 of these for S60 D4 VOLVO.All in under £200 just over a year ago.
They replaced used set of PZEROs that were on there. And I tell you what, I cant spot the difference.....

Wet and dry handling is just as good. Never felt scared of as if they are going to give way or break away.
Wear also looks good for a 10,000m after a year.

Only one problem was the front nearside developed a puncture in the sidewall which was the only downside to these.

Brand snobbery has gone a long way.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-21 07:02:34
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 69% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 spirited miles
Good tyre for comfort, noise and wet grip, the drawback ......only lasted 12,000 miles!!

tyre reviewed on 2016-12-21 10:53:59
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre