Volvo S60 T5 250bhp Tyres

Drive a Volvo S60 T5 250bhp? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S60 T5 250bhp
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (29) 86% 84% 83% 85% 79% 79% 87% 83% 145,273
Apollo Aspire 4G (6) 88% 72% 85% 82% 68% 85% 68% 78% 26,356
Sava intensa uhp (15) 83% 74% 79% 71% 78% 76% 71% 76% 131,401
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
GT Radial Champiro BAX 2 (12) 83% 70% 76% 75% 72% 69% 65% 73% 268,268
Pirelli P Zero (100) 85% 72% 78% 74% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,738,173
Toyo Proxes 4 (44) 80% 62% 71% 65% 77% 75% 63% 70% 497,862
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (58) 74% 65% 64% 60% 65% 62% 52% 63% 1,281,195
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (125) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,243,457
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 44% 869,429
Linglong L688 (28) 43% 25% 33% 31% 53% 36% 26% 35% 1,226,928
Fullrun HP199 (74) 47% 27% 32% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 478,451

Volvo S60 T5 250bhp Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Apollo Aspire 4G given 94% (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Dry grip- It grips excellently. Fewer traction control light flash at take offs on 177kw 320Nm car.

Wet grip- Only drove less than 2000km on the dry. Have not really experience wet driving yet.

Handling- This is where this tire shines. Its very stable and predictable and way better than the Continental Sport Contact 5p's I have replaced.

Comfort/Noise - It soaks bumps well for a 40 aspect ratio tire and it is a rather quite tyre.

Buy again- I will definitely buy it again and again. Best value for money
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-22 21:39:15
Writing about the Sava intensa uhp given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1 spirited miles
On my Volvo S60 Turbo with low profile tyres these are the best I've experienced over 6 years with the car - others being original Pirelli P6000 and Goodyear F1.
Grip is impressive tho steering not too sharp. Does not track grooves in road as others tended to do. Give a more quiet and comfortable ride - unusual for low profiles I think. Steering and ride improvement even noticed by my wife as passenger. Laser tracking also helped with steering tho tracking had been done twice before without such improvement.
At ?80 each incl. for the two fronts from HiQ I am well pleased.
Alcat.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-01 16:25:26
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 93% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 spirited miles
Bought my Tyres august 2014.
Driven 2 1/2 seasons with them, or about 45 000km. Got 2.5mm left on all tyres.

Best with these tyres are following, Wet grip! WOW! Is the road even wet? Corners like the road is dry.
Responsivity, The tyre respons instantly to your steering!

Have even noticed that the new nano technology does not let the tyre to Scream when cornering hard or braking hard on hot Asphalt. :P

These are quiet when you have 5mm+ thread left, below that they become noisy.
I have pushed these tyres HARD with my Volvo S60 300bhp, the grip is so good that i cant get them to spin!

I am now looking after new tyres, but i cant see any other tyres compete with these in that price range! Going to order a new Set of these now! =)
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-27 19:45:47
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 87% (215-50-17-P)
Driving on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
These are newly launched tyres, lack of online reviews anywhere. Previously using Michelin Primacy and Pilot Sport 3. Decided to give it a try and it was such a pleasant surprise. Overall very satisfied with Advan Fleva V701, very quiet for a directional tyre and great grip on the road. Tyre is rated at Treadwear 300, Traction AA, Temperature A.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-11 07:17:57
Writing about the Toyo Proxes 4 given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 11000 average miles
Don't know why this tyre get's such bad review's i find them very good and only ?80 each fitted. have done over 10000 miles and the front's our on 6mm.
Also very good in the snow for a summer tyre
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-23 22:42:11
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro BAX 2 given 77% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 average miles
i have to admit that i bought these tyres only because of their low set price, but i was really pleased with the performance of the tyres. really good and grippy, balanced road character in dry, reasonably well in the wet, wear is unexpectedly good. aquaplanning is just a bit of issue but i can live with it. obviously its not a benchmark tyre in its class, but honestly with that overall performance, its a real bargain, and i can easily recommend it to users whom looking for a decent performing budget tyre.

sorry for my english by the way.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-21 22:43:47
Writing about the Nexen N3000 given 74% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12500 spirited miles
This is my third set of Nexen 3000's, so you can see how highly I think of them, I wanted some tyres that looked good and handled well without breaking the bank and the Nexen 3000 scores highly in these requirements and owning a Volvo S60 T5 I often like to give the car a good workout, so whether it be fast motorway miles or quick jaunts around country lanes, these tyres have never let me down and I wil continue to use them
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-06 17:04:09
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
I've tried out lot's of tires the last years and found what others seem to know from the beginning; quality comes from the same brand over again. The last years I've gone from Hankook, Barum, Good Year, Sunny, Nokian, Michelin to Continental, Bridestone and now last season to Pirelli Zero.

What a fantastic tyre, grips, holds, responses and performs. Bare in mind I drive a Volvo which is among the worst cars made. I've also been very happy with Bridgestone 050's, but they weigh 1 kg more at the same size, so my choice goes to Continental Sport-series or as now, Pirelli Zero. After 10 km of efficient driving, the surface is already warmed up and grips.

The only downside is the wear. Mine lasted for 12000 km on front axle untile they were below 0,5 mm and I had to change for a set of new ones, the same brand of course.

Very happy with these, but next choice might also be Continental. Both C. and Pirelli are ligher than competitors, Pirelli is also slightly narrower on same size, where Bridgestone meets the full measure it specifies. Conti in between.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-14 19:59:05
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 64% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Would buy again. Above average.
Noisy but do seem to last well. Half worn now after 8k reckon 15-18k from 250 bhp fwd .
I will be trying a set of falken next.
Good year F1 was first set on this car and good feel and grip but poor wear and expensive.
Find budget performance tyres give good balance of quality and cost.

tyre reviewed on 2008-06-14 02:01:09
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 9000 given 55% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
To be fair I've only had these Dunlop SP Sport 9000's on for the last 1,000 miles so it's a little early and the weather conditions have been mostly poor (cold & wet).
The tyres are noisy at all speeds, far more so than the previous Goodyear Eagle F1's and Bridgestone Pole Position SO2's.
Wet group from the Dunlops is pretty poor and the only reason I gave dry a positive rating is that it's a fairly progressive tyre in the dry. The Volvo S60 T5 is quite heavy but has a lot of power through the front wheels and in this respect the tyres have been OK. The ride feels firmer too despite identical tyre pressures to previous tyres.
I've tried a number of tyres on the Volvo over time and I would highly recommend the Goodyear Eagle F1's - the only reason I didn't get them this time was a shortage of supply at the time.
I get around 20,000 miles out of a set of F1's (have been through 2 sets), they are very quiet and provide excellent grip in all conditions.
The Standard fit Pirelli P-Zero's (UK Market with sports pack) were hopeless on the Volvo, far better suited to rear wheel drive cars.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-03 10:29:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre