Volvo S60T5 260bhp Tyres

Drive a Volvo S60T5 260bhp? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S60T5 260bhp
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (90) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 88% 88% 794,635
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84% 87% 78% 173,406
Kumho Ecsta AST KU25 (8) 83% 66% 68% 65% 71% 49% 54% 65% 67,120
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482

Volvo S60T5 260bhp Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 100% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
these tyres are just ridiculously good!
300+hp up front and gripping is fantastic! even in wet, you wouldnt notice the difference!
cornering! like on rails makes for so much confidence bending it around!
imo there is no better tyre!
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-17 18:22:07
Writing about the Nexen N3000 given 97% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I bought a full set of these to replace the original Continental P.C. I can't fault them for the money Cost me ?60 all in per tyre. Dry grip is outstanding, even better the the Conti's, I feel much more confident to throw the car round tight corners and have done with no loss of grip. The conti's did slip out very slightly, but the tred was almost at the legal limit. Ride comfort is much better than the conti's, all the pot holes in the road are much softer and it seems to glide most of them. The noise is way better then contis as well. On concrete motorways the continentals would make a huge noise, but with these N3000 it's difficult to tell just from the noise if your on tarmac or concrete. Going over the seven trent bridge on the M62 towards Hull, hitting the metal joins in the tarmac with the continentals sounded like smashing 2 huge steel bars together, at the same speed (90 ish mph)with the N3000 it was just a quite thud, much better. Only has 1 wet day so far but they seem to handle just fine. For the money at ?60 fully fitted per tyre, instead of the ?120 per tyre for the conti's you cant go wrong and they look amazing. I was initially worried that my car would shred them, (Volvo S60 2.5 T) as I do like to keep testing my 0-silly speeds time, but so far not even a hint of a hic-up and they look amazing. These have made driving a pleasure again.
tyre reviewed on 2009-06-04 11:05:58
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 87% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I bought these tyres from Tyreleader in Germany/Poland and to be honest I was really pleased with them. Last winter I drove over 4k miles throughout Europe in middle of the winter, going through snow without issues but I was most impressed when driving in heavy rain, they dispersed the water extremely well, no aquaplaning at all even on high speeds and I felt safe at any time. I personally don't see much wisdom to spend £600 for a set of Continentals when I can have the same level of comfort and safety spending less than a half. The only downsides I could find is that they wear down a bit quicker than Pirelli sottozero which I had a winter before and secondly they felt a bit soft when cornering but not unsafe. All in all, it's a good deal £65 per corner as of 2015 ( 225 45/17) and I'm sure my next set of tyres would be of the same brand.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-21 21:14:41
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 84% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These are fitted to my S60 T5 running over 300 ft/lbs torque. Dry grip is fantastic, much less wheel spin and great feed back through the steering especially in the bends, improve brake feel due to the stiff sidewalls. Very good in the wet, I would say that they probably provide as much grip in the wet as my continental contact 3's did in the dry ! Totally useless in the snow, but they are not snow tyres so no suprise there.

I have previously tried both conti 3's pilots sp2's and the Sessantas are far better grip wise.

Downsides.... the first 50 or so miles they are shocking, very slippery. They have stiff sidewalls so the ride is no where near as comfortable as some other tyres.

Upsides - very grippy in both wet and dry, good handling with more feel and progression, quiet on the motorway, better brake feel. CHEAP !!!!

Would I buy them again... yes and im also telling every one i know to get them. Great tyre, infact probably the best tyre youve never heard of !
tyre reviewed on 2009-02-06 20:51:22
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta AST KU25 given 79% (225-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Put these on my Volvo not expecting much. But they have been great in florida we get absolute deluges every afternoon and they have not skipped a beat in the wet. As far as dry traction they definitely are pretty good but i noticed pushing them to their limits you get all sorts of grip then its gone, where as some tires tend to slowly fade these just sign off. But you can feel the moment its about to happen pretty well.The sidewall is stiff but I like that because you get better feedback from the road and you know a little better when they are going to sign off. I have no road noise issues and I had Potenzas on the car last those tires were down right loud. I think a lot of people just like to complain, and honestly for the money these tires are pretty decent. But i wouldn't use them on my enthusiast car, i will continue to use Proxes on that.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-08 15:35:13
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre