Volvo S80 D5 Tyres

Drive a Volvo S80 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo S80 D5
Michelin Alpin A4 (50) 88% 94% 91% 87% 95% 92% 95% 93% 406,112
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Michelin CrossClimate (107) 89% 87% 85% 81% 86% 92% 88% 82% 1,314,939
Nokian WR D4 (55) 85% 86% 81% 80% 66% 86% 74% 82% 415,243
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (34) 81% 85% 82% 78% 76% 80% 83% 81% 412,700
Neuton NT8000 (32) 90% 74% 80% 75% 81% 82% 77% 80% 230,381
Vredestein Ultrac Cento (22) 83% 78% 76% 73% 86% 82% 79% 80% 243,204
Kumho IZen KW27 (29) 77% 76% 75% 73% 82% 84% 76% 77% 290,800
Michelin Primacy 3 (146) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,137,473
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Maxxis M35 Victra Asymmet (13) 83% 69% 73% 67% 68% 75% 69% 72% 102,516
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Sunny SN3970 (44) 71% 49% 55% 54% 65% 55% 46% 56% 492,725
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 (21) 68% 36% 51% 56% 54% 56% 36% 51% 200,625
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric All Season (3) 75% 45% 65% 55% 35% 50% 30% 51% 42,000

Volvo S80 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 100% (205-60-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Well done. Before I had conti ts830. Michelin is better than conti on dry road. Every feel is the same. Good Tyre
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-03 12:05:40
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 96% (205-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 154000 easy going miles
I have had 2 sets of Pirelli P6000`s on my car over the last three and a half years. I read reviews of the Goodyear Excellence and fitted a set of four about three months ago. They are superb!!!! I can corner 10 mph quicker in perfect safety. The grip is incredible in all wethers on all surfaces. I simply cannot believe how good they are. The Pirelli P6000`s are good tyres, so I was amazed by the performance of thes eExcellence tyres. I will definitely buy another set when the currnet ones need replacing.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-08 20:59:40
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 96% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Bought these to replace Cooper CS6s which I had also used on previous cars [Volvo S80; Saab 95]but found them to be rather harsh ride. The CrossClimates have transformed this. Only fitted 8 weeks ago so unable to comment on wear. Handling in dry and wet very good. Not tried in snow. Handling very controlled towing 1300kg caravan.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-30 11:03:18
Writing about the Sunny SN3970 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 400 average miles
Now, like you, I looked at the reviews on this site to help me decide which tyres to buy. I had found the Sunny SN3970 on ebay for buttons so I thought I'd check them out.
The first question was "who the 'kin'ell is Sunny"??? It turns out atht it is a division of South China Tyre & Rubber (SCTR). They have a modern production facility with over 5000 staff and make millions of tyres each year under the Sunny and Wanli brands - not exactly a back street sweatshop - this is a heavy-weight company. So the credibility stands up.

But what about the actual rubber??? Read the reviews and you wold think that they were only for those with a death wish!! Well I needed to replace the Nexen N6000's on my manual Volvo S80 so a nice new set of Sunny (admittedly, naff name) SN 3970 boots were fitted. On the way home I took the car for a spin arround the Cheshire back roads and motorways. The weather was, as usual, a mix of sunshine and showers. And guess what? I made it home in one piece. The car didn't skid off the road in a ball of fire and there was even some tread left after the 40 mile journey!!
The S80 is a big heavy car with loads of torque. My Car is fitted with active suspension and the ride can be set on ether Sports or Comfort settings - both gave a perfectly acceptable ride comfort and the tyres are quiet on even rough road surfaces so no bleeding eardrums to worry about.

So all in all, if you ignore the rants of muppets in scooby's, the Sunny SN3970 seem alright to me - only miles will tell how long they last - hopefully longer than the 12000 miles I got out of the N6000's
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-09 17:52:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 91% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Had Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres fitted recently and couldn't be happier.


tyre reviewed on 2011-08-10 19:50:32
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 91% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 238 spirited miles
I have a Volvo S80 SE on a 53 plate which I have had from new I have done 238,000 miles mostly done with the Wintrac extreme tyres. They are the only tyre that the car feels really safe with, the only time I have been beaten is when the snow has been too deep! I have got to places that I thought I would only have got to in a 4X4. I have even been told by a number of Volvo mechanics that mine is the best handling Volvo they have driven! I live where the Jim Clark rally is held and our roads are full of pot holes or mini graters and the car has never let me down. ps it still has the original engine and gearbox (auto)
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-06 00:21:08
Writing about the Neuton NT8000 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Bought these on the basis of the recommendations and from research which indicated that SAAB/GM garages reccomended them and, was reassured they are produced by a Yokohama as a sub brand. They cost significantly less than half the price of the Bridgestones they replaced. They seem quiet, comfortable and perform well. After 5K miles appear to be lasting very well and have definately done everything asked of them without a moments cause for concern. Would definately recommend them to anyone and I will be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-01 18:54:33
Writing about the Kumho IZen KW27 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
I have driven and ralllied for 50 years, these tyres are the very best. We have 50cm snow and my Volvo S 80 drives in it although it was not there.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-01 15:46:21
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 85% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
These tyres have totally transformed my car (2004 Volvo S80) Compared to the Pirellis they replaced (P7 Cints on front, P6000 on back) Steering is much sharper, ride quality is totally transformed, almost Citroen like; the whole car feels composed in a way it never did before. They are also much quieter, complete lack of any bump-thump over manholes etc. It's early days yet so can't judge wear, but so far I'd say they're the best tyres I've ever bought in nearly 30 years.
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-13 18:02:51
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Cento given 83% (235-40-18-)
Driving on for 18000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-29 15:01:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre