Volvo V60 D5 Tyres

Drive a Volvo V60 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo V60 D5
Giti GitiSport S1 (3) 90% 87% 87% 87% 93% 87% 97% 90% 21,500
Continental Premium Contact 6 (36) 95% 91% 88% 91% 82% 87% 82% 88% 167,380
Duraturn Mozzo Sport (1) 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 90% 90% 87% 6,000
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (11) 87% 82% 75% 84% 93% 90% 94% 86% 56,750
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Ovation VI 388 (6) 87% 85% 75% 83% 93% 72% 70% 81% 10,500
Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue (28) 88% 76% 76% 72% 87% 76% 65% 77% 568,389

Volvo V60 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
I have these tyres for about 2 months now on a volvo v60 with 215bhp with awd. The grip and steering response is great with surprising levels of comfort. My previous tires were Pirelli P7 and Nokian z-line , i think the Continentals are a blend of sticky and resonsive tyres (like the nokians) and comfort tyres . Hopefully they won't wear out in 30.000 km like the nokians .
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-01 10:30:35
Writing about the Ovation VI 388 given 92% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have always bought tyres with a name, my tyre fitter recommended Ovations to me as he had them fitted on his own car and van. For the money I gave them a go, they have been on for approx 1000 miles and I honestly cannot fault them. Prior to fitting the two fronts I ran Avon ZZ3's which I was very happy with, however I will not hesitate to fit Ovations when my rears are due.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-27 22:49:18
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 87% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
excellent tyre just as good as pilot super sports but £60-£70 cheaper, hard to get hold of offline though.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-07 09:51:10
Writing about the Giti GitiSport S1 given 87% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 9000 spirited miles
An excellent choice and very cheap! excellent value for money
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-21 19:48:40
Writing about the Duraturn Mozzo Sport given 87% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
I was caught short with a wrecked tyre so I replaced the two fronts with Duraturn Mozzos, to date I have done approx 6000 miles and I cannot fault them.The dealer didn't have any Ovations which is what I was running so I gave them a go, at just over £100 for two tyres fitted I would happily fit them again.
I expected some form of compromise due to the price but to date I have no complaints at all.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-31 19:32:54
Writing about the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 given 84% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-18 09:12:37
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue given 78% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
I purchased this set of 4 Pirelli P7 Blue tyres, replacing Continentals on my Volvo V60, after reading reviews.

I was particularly impressed by the 3/4 mpg reduction in my fuel consumption, but my problems with these tyres are that they are very easily damaged. 3 out 4 of these tyres have had to be replaced due to sidewall bulges. The first was replaced after 10,200 miles. The second was replaced at 16900 miles and the faulty tyre returned to Pirelli for their comments, which were that the damage was probably caused by pot holes. Both these tyres were replaced with the same PirelliP7 Blue tyres. The third tyre was replaced with an Avon tyre, as it was the only one available in stock at the particular tyre centre, with the correct specification, and the faulty tyre again returned to Pirelli for their comments and again the response was that the damage was probably caused by pot holes.
Now, considering the state of a lot of our roads, regarding pot holes, I don't consider these tyres fit for purpose, It's easy for Pirelli to just state that 'it's probably due to pot hole damage', but if the side walls are not strong enough to withstand the rigors of our roads, they are not fit for purpose, and added to that is the inherant cost of replacing tyres that were not worn out!.

I have never had this type of problem with any previous makes tyres, on any of my cars, in over 50 years of driving.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-05 10:45:38
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue given 78% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
I purchased this set of 4 Pirelli P7 Blue tyres, replacing Continentals on my Volvo V60, after reading reviews.

I was particularly impressed by the 3/4 mpg reduction in my fuel consumption, but my problems with these tyres are that they are very easily damaged. 3 out 4 of these tyres have had to be replaced due to sidewall bulges. The first was replaced after 10,200 miles. The second was replaced at 16900 miles and the faulty tyre returned to Pirelli for their comments, which were that the damage was probably caused by pot holes. Both these tyres were replaced with the same PirelliP7 Blue tyres. The third tyre was replaced with an Avon tyre, as it was the only one available in stock at the particular tyre centre, with the correct specification, and the faulty tyre again returned to Pirelli for their comments and again the response was that the damage was probably caused by pot holes.
Now, considering the state of a lot of our roads, regarding pot holes, I don't consider these tyres fit for purpose, It's easy for Pirelli to just state that 'it's probably due to pot hole damage', but if the side walls are not strong enough to withstand the rigors of our roads, they are not fit for purpose, and added to that is the inherant cost of replacing tyres that were not worn out!.

I have never had this type of problem with any previous makes tyres, on any of my cars, in over 50 years of driving.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-06 08:25:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre