Volvo V70 2.4 Tyres

Drive a Volvo V70 2.4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo V70 2.4
Zenises Ztyre runflat (1) 90% 80% 90% 80% 90% 100% 100% 90% 23,000
Pirelli SOTTOZERO (7) 75% 93% 83% 85% 88% 83% 97% 88% 99,000
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84% 91% 85% 71,750
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82% 76% 76% 100,000
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (122) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,619,302
Goodyear OptiGrip (16) 74% 83% 66% 71% 71% 66% 67% 71% 208,500
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (24) 56% 30% 47% 39% 65% 58% 33% 47% 225,330

Volvo V70 2.4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kleber Quadraxer given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Had a fun time with my all season Kleber Quadraxers. It's the first time they have been used in extremis.
There is a hill just outside of where I live that climbs into the countryside to a place called King's Seat that is notorious for snow. It had three cars stuck along it's length trying to get up the hill, and a further car at the top who seemed reluctant to come down. After checking to see if they were going to make a move I made my way up smoothly without fuss to the top. It was so easy I was actually laughing when I got there. I loved the expression on the face of the driver who was thinking of going down.
I travelled a few miles on unploughed roads to get the feel of the car, and came to the conclusion that driving with these tyres on in these conditions was simply incredible, and to think that they have been on the car for two years in all conditions.
I then had to descend a hill to go back into town, where it was mayhem with cars stuck or slipping everywhere. Keeping the car on the brakes going downhill on a steep icy road, Townhill Road, was no problem either. Stopped when I wanted to and no reaction from the ABS. I eventually turned off onto quieter roads that were snow filled to make my way back by the side roads as I would still be in a queue if I didn't.
All in all, brilliant tyres that do everything better than the OEM Pirelli Powergy P6000s the car came with. I will be buying these again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-22 09:41:53
Writing about the Achilles Winter 101 given 93% (205-55-16-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 easy going miles
These are the first winter tyres I have ever had.
They are fitted to a 2003 Volvo V70 Auto with traction control.

Please be aware that I am a stereotypical Volvo driver, ie I do not drive fast. I used to be an advanced police driver. Therefore my 'fun' was had in police cars and not my own private cars.

My immediate impressions when first driving with the new tyres was how quiet and comfortable they are. Top score for that.

The road feedback is good whereby you can feel the grip that is being generated. I have pulled away from stand still without wheel spin (don't forget it's an auto though!) and the grip is everything that you need in non-snowy conditions in both wet and dry and also on wet leaves.

We had a few days of very mild weather, up to 14 degrees, and the tyres didn't seem to mind at all.

But recently there's been plenty of snow and this is where they excel!!
The grip is huge compared with summer tyres.
I experimented with hill starts on compacted snow where summer tyres would have been totally useless. The grip provided by the winter tyres enabled an easy hill start. Cornering on compacted snow has proved equally as impressive.

Braking on sheet ice is reasonable if you are gentle on the brakes - after all, ice is ice!

I have covered a distance of 1500 miles so far so cannot reliably give an opinion on wear.

So my verdict is a simple one: Although it's a budget tyre it does what you would want it to do and you should consider this brand in confidence.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-25 15:53:19
Writing about the Zenises Ztyre runflat given 90% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 average miles
This is the 2nd time i have zenises tyres, my 1st 4 tyres lasted 23000 miles with still 2.5 mm even front, and 3mm on the rear wheels, keep the tyres to there correct pressures, they were remarkably quiet , I found them a good tyre in the wet and dry, they never let me down, even on snow and ice i was on my comfort zone, would give them 6 , When needed some very extra high speed found them a smooth drive, never felt out of control, no judders ,there was no rolling on cornering, not like michelin tyres, an I am EX hgv 1 driver retired, 20 yrs +just purchased my second set this week
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-30 23:19:01
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 89% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Very good tyres. Grippy and predictable in the dry and confidence-inspiring in the wet, even on a heavy car like my Volvo. Not excessively noisy and fuel consumption is better than with Avon ZV7s that were previously fitted.
After 5000 miles the fronts are still at 7.5mm so while they are a relatively soft compound I still expect to get a reasonable lifespan from them.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-17 11:36:29
Writing about the Maxtrek INGENS A1 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-05 10:56:41
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 87% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 easy going miles
Switched from Pirreli.I drive on the M62 "over the tops" of the Pennines every week.Lots of rain, snow and sleat.Fantastic grip in all conditions. Car goes exactly where I point it.These tyres give me complete confidence.Will fit RS3 next time.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-16 04:24:21
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 81% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 spirited miles
The steel wheel (16"!)version of this car was shod with 205mm wide tyres; mine came with 17" alloys and 225mm wide P6000 tyres and I'm wondering how much difference the extra 20mm has made to the performance!?
Grip in the dry has been exceptional even during spirited drives across good cross-country roads. Braking has also been excellent in the dry and never aqua-planed in the wet with some reduction in grip - but, probably down to me braking more gently the adverse the conditions!
The first set of tyres lasted 28,000 miles; the 2nd set are still going strong and look to be returning about the same distance.
I have noticed the steering 'tracking' on uneven road surfaces particularly when the tyres were getting low on tread.
And, the tread wears, the tyres provide an increasingly harder ride and the noise level rises slightly - but, I assume this is normal and would occur with most if not all tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-04 21:25:22
Writing about the Pirelli SOTTOZERO given 80% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on for 12000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-12 21:33:43
Writing about the Goodyear OptiGrip given 77% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Absolutely superb tyres in the wet. I've now done approx. 5000 miles on these, and with the exception of the first 250 miles or so (I've seen a few complaints about initial grip - they do take a while to bed-in), the wet grip has been pretty much constant since I got them. The 'tread gets wider as the tyre wears' design really does seem to work.

The drawback is the dry performance. Grip levels are OK (though not up to my previous Vredestein Sportracs), but there's not a huge amount of feedback from them, and if you push hard it feels like the tread is squirming around a bit on the road surface. They never feel unsafe though, and I've not had a single 'moment' with them, even with some fairly enthusiastic driving.

Overall a great tyre for all-round use, though with the bias firmly towards wet performance, which is exactly what you want in a big lardy old barge of a car with a torquey engine, like I've got. I'd hesitate to recommend them if you've got a more sporty car that you like slinging round bends in the dry, as there are definitely better tyres for that, but if you want something for general touring / commuting use all year round, they should definitely be high on your list. They are also (at least in my size) considerably cheaper than Conti Premium Contacts (which I've yet to try, but tend to rate even higher than the Optigrips).
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-26 10:56:02
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 73% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 easy going miles
Great tire on confort, grip is fine at dry, above average in wet. Mostly relex driving and these tires have been good overall.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-30 00:24:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre