Volvo V70 2.4T Tyres

Drive a Volvo V70 2.4T ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo V70 2.4T
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (119) 86% 79% 80% 76% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,226,286
Continental Premium Contact 5 (101) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 80% 66% 76% 1,104,638
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578

Volvo V70 2.4T Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 94% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
Absolutely magic tyres!!

I drive a Volvo V70 2.4T 200bhp very hard and have previously had a set of Goodyear F1's then Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta's on the car. It's a big but powerful estate and demands a lot from the tyres.

The Goodyears were good but wore out very quickly (10k on the fronts) and became very noisy. Then came the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta's and WOW what a difference. Grip was fantastic in wet and dry but again wore out very quickly (8k on the fronts)and became very noisy.

So time to replace them and I wanted a change in tread pattern from the wave patterns to a nice standard 5 cirecumfrential block tyre. Then.......I chose Kumho Ecsta Le Sport KU39 tyres extra loan and all I can say is WOW, WOW, WOW!

Absolutelt class. They are quiet, comfortable, responsive and grip it fantastic in wet and dry. I also pull a caravan that is 1200kg and have just encountered a 1 in 4 hill start in the rain with the caravan on, so total laden weight of car & caravan was in excess of 3 tonnes and it pulled away fine and traction control didn't even kick in as they was so much grip.

Basically, you can see that I know my tyres having done the Goodyears then Vredesteins and what a difference the Kumho's make. It's like a different car!

Wear seems ok but only done 1200 miles so far, so will keep you posted and a £100 fitted per corner on 235/40/18 extra load on a Y rating, then you can't grumble at that.

I would give 100% all round but can't comment on the brealaway point of the tyre yet as I haven't pushed them but don''t think there will be much point as the grip is too good.

Go on...treat yourself and buy a set!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-14 20:03:16
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 90% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Just relpaced all four tyres, replacing Pirelli P6000's(which were poor). Very impressed with the Rainsport 2. Good feedback with low rolling noise. Having read some reviews I was concerned about the flexibility of the tyre walls; however under acceleration and cornering forces the tyres perform well, giving good feedback in both dry and wet cnditions. Cannot comment on the wear yet, although if similar to previous Uniroyals, they should be good. A very good tyre, that looks good too and would recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-28 18:18:27
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 86% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 spirited miles
A big car for the family, and i drive long distance for work, but when i get the chance spend the day playing! and although not really the car for hard bends. i used to spend alot on rubber thinking that at least on the motorway i'm saving my penny's. my friend and i (same car)have been through a few (tz200,mich sport,sportrac3, and the fantastic Eagle F1 GSD3)you can only compare the fk452's to the eagle f1's and for the price they win big time.it will be a hard job to take these away from me although i might try uniroyal rainsport 2's next, for a simular price. FK's have great grip, wearing well and more importantly for me day to day great wet grip(though just short of the mich sport's)i would recommend these to anyone in fact my mate now has them on his audi V6. althogh the F1's give better feedback and on the limit info(just), the falkens overall just take it. the only issue i had was for the first 300 or so mile's they really need bedding in as what ever's coating them wear's off.finally these are the best so far for keeping a fairly powerfull,heavy,rear wheel drive car straight,off the line.still makes me smile when the teenage boy racer is in the rear view!!
tyre reviewed on 2009-06-11 00:40:55
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 easy going miles
Unlike everybody else who seems to comment on here, I am not boy (or girl) racing / off-roading / towing, just normal everyday driving, 100 miles per day, most of it motorway.
In these circumstances, these tyres have been excellent. I have driven through all conditions over the last 12 months -- snow, torrential rain, blistering heat, and I have never felt anything other than completely safe.
For all the "specialist" types of driving I suspect you will need specialist tyres, but for "normal" day to day driving, which the vast majority of the driving population does, thses tyres are an excellent choice, and represent serious value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-24 14:01:20
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 82% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
I'm very satisfied with my NS2. I've used my first set for 4 years now, and will definitely consider buying them again, when it's time. They are silent running, and gives a precise feeling. I feel these tires behave equivalent in all situations to the Michelinhigh end tires I used before buying Nankang.

Comments on negative feedback in this forum and magazine reviews with bad outcome for these tires:

- I checked the reviews by the German magazine Auto Bild for a couple of high end priced and a couple of low end priced tires. Without any exception, all high end tires got very good reviews and all the low end got "don't buy" reviews. To me that signal that this magazine has an unprofessional and unscientific approach to tire reviews. I just can't be that the price of a tire is 100% correlated to its performance. There's so much more than the tire company’s ability to develop a good tire that determines the final price. And Auto Bilds bad review for this tire has been contradicted by hundreds of happy owners.

- Maybe those stating in this forum that this tire's ability to brake is almost zero, and because of this experienced a collision, may say so because they need an excuse other than their own driving ability.

In other words:
Don't care about reviews where the author has driven his car into something, and then blames the tires.

I can tell from my own experience with these tires that an experienced driver would never drive into something in front of him because these tires bad brake ability surprised him. That sounds just ridiculous to me.
Of course there is a difference in the final brake distance between different tires, but in a situation ending in a collision, there are a lot of other factors involved that can be hard for the driver himself to analyze correctly afterwards.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-12 20:45:54
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I have probably done about 4k with these tyres now. I like them a lot, they perform amazingly on damp roads.

The side walls are soft and so if you want a more solid/sporty 'pointy' feel then you may feel let down.

Overall, I don't think I have ever had a better 'all purpose' tyre, I've generally gone for more sporty tyres in the past, GSD3, T1R, etc, and I think I prefer the rainsports.
They don't have as much 'all out' dry grip as some sporty style tyres, or feel very sporty but they offer the best overall performance I've ever seen.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-07 03:18:05
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very good in wet, superb in dry.
Poor steering feedback but very comfortable.
Inspire confidence, but do roll a bit on corners, definitely a comfy touring tyre rather than a sport tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-08 18:38:28
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 52% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
fitted to the front of a volvo v70 estate,what a mistake!!!!! bought as a result of "good" reviews,like driving on a noisy bag of custard.WILL NEVER BUY THESE AGAIN.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-28 12:45:40
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 31% (205-55-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Shocking tyres in the wet - buy something else if there is any chance of rain anywhere near where you are going. Volvo's are pretty sure footed, but my V70 just understeers across the road when it is wet at 20 mph. Really, these are dangerous :-(
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-15 16:00:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre