Volvo V70 2.5 Tyres

Drive a Volvo V70 2.5 ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo V70 2.5
Bridgestone A001 (44) 92% 94% 90% 80% 86% 84% 94% 86% 502,216
Uniroyal RainExpert (129) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86% 85% 83% 1,253,762
Cooper WeatherMaster Snow (7) 82% 85% 83% 78% 80% 82% 80% 81% 78,030
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80% 78% 81% 1,412,351
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (48) 82% 75% 75% 73% 87% 75% 75% 78% 1,010,486
Jinyu YH12 (28) 81% 74% 79% 69% 79% 80% 73% 76% 151,181
Michelin Primacy HP (195) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,311,094
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72% 69% 72% 555,558
Maxxis MA P1 (19) 80% 66% 72% 64% 76% 71% 70% 71% 226,483
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (88) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,031,921
General AltiMAX HP (11) 75% 64% 60% 52% 55% 61% 48% 59% 127,905
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261

Volvo V70 2.5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Jinyu YH12 given 100% (195-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
I overcame my initial prejudices, read the good reviews these tyres had and bought a pair. They are as good as most people say and I am really pleased with them. I will have no hesitation in buying them again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-06 06:28:07
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Just suffered a blow out on the front off-side, tried to replace the General Tyre but the local dealer didn't have them. Afer some discussion, I had two Uniroyal Rain Expert tyres fitted on the front (front wheel drive V70 Volvo) what a difference! 60% less road noise, better quality of ride, sticks to the road like glue! Excellent tyres, I'm going back next week to replace the two on the back (even though they don't really need it yet!)
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-28 17:57:32
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12 average miles
have these in XL format on the front of an ageing Volvo V70 auto, maybe it's the XL variant making the difference but they have been fantastic... quiet, sure footed and lasted over 12k on a car that normally requires new tyres after about 7-8k..... they have done a mixture of dual / motorway and very wet Welsh country roads and are about to be replaced with 2.5-3mm left on them..... and just because it's a Volvo I do not drive like the pipe and trilby brigade
couple of things that may contribute towards my success with them, as said previous, XL variant used, which for some reason carries a double B rating whereas the 91s are higher... car is always fully geo-tracked on a hunter machine, wheels also balanced on Hunter equipment and tyres nitrogen filled, that said have used other tyres with lesser results.....
they seem well suited to my vehicle and that could also be part of the success, have had some tyres which were great on one car and awful on another
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-12 18:53:54
Writing about the Firestone TZ200 given 87% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 90000 average miles
Just a great all round tyre. Replaced Continental Eco Contacts as I had 3 fail on me and these are better in all respects. Dry, wet, noise, economy and wear they beat the BIG brands. Gone through 3 sets now and love 'em. Just replaced 2 with Hankook Optimo K415s as TZ200's out of stock and wish I hadn't.
tyre reviewed on 2009-03-15 12:25:17
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 87% (185-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
These tyres came on my V70 when I bought it 2nd hand. I wouldn't normally buy a premium brand like Dunlop, but having a blowout on a cheap low profile tyre in my last car made me think differently. Anyway, these tyres have performed brilliantly at motorway speeds, on icy roads (even going up and down hills) and taken all sorts of country abuse (potholes, unsurfaced tracks etc) without complaint. I've just ordered another set!
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-26 16:33:23
Writing about the Firestone TZ200 given 87% (195-60-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 125000 average miles
Used to use Continentals as the car came with them but had 3 failures so decided to try something else. These TZ200s are better. I wouldn't go to budget brands but these have been great. I have had many sets now having done 200000 miles in my car. They last 22-25000 on the front after sitting on the rears for a similar mileage. I currently have 2 Hankook Optimo K415 on as the TZ200s were out of stock. They are a similar price but no where near as good in the wet. Firestone next time.
tyre reviewed on 2010-01-26 21:18:21
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 86% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 easy going miles
Using them in a Volvo V70 for ordinary easy driving. car is poor on streering feel anyway but tyres performed well all round and life was looking at 25-27k on the front which is fine on this size car
Would definately buy again
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-04 18:03:48
Writing about the Maxxis MA P1 given 84% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
fitted these to the wives V70 auto, being a non-turbo did not need high performance but with the weight of the engine / auto box did want good wear... straight away I noticed the stiffness of the side walls as opposed to the budget tyres I had on before, this made for better cornering and ride comfort... found the tyres fairly quiet, even now they are down to 2mm... what surprised me even more was their ability to grip in the deluge after the recent dry spell with such little grip left.. do not know exact mileage but it is around the 12,000 mile mark, which is double what the falkens gave me previous... and as an extra they come with a free lifetime warranty againts defects and damage.... will I buy again? trying to decide between these and the new XL ventus prime 2 from Hankook
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-03 18:32:46
Writing about the Bridgestone A001 given 83% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Scotland - Volvo V70 - an excellent tyre well suited to the northern climate.
Wet grip is excellent in winter and summer, and deep water at speed doesn't upset them. You can fly into a cold wet roundabout and nothing scary will happen, they stick and keep on trying at the limit – i.e. progressive. Summer wet grip is also excellent with no apparent degradation in grip.
Never got stuck in snow, not that they've had to deal with a lot of it.
Also excellent in the dry, the only time I noticed any “squidging up” was on a hot summer's day down in Kent when the tarmac temp must have been in the high 30s.
Steering response remains good with only a little tread-block “wibble-wobble” (the sort you can get with blocky tread patterns, as experienced in greater amounts on other all-season tyres). You might notice it a bit on a performance car.
They are well worn down now but still excellent wet grip, no increase in noise or any rumbling. As for noise, a wee bit noisier and you get a bit of whirring in fast corners.
I'd buy them again but will try the Michelin cross-climates, just to see if that makes any difference to the steering response.

I suppose an acid test is this – in light snow/ice I take this car rather than my Toyota RAV4 (4x4) as the Volvo on the Bridgestones steers/stops noticeably better than the RAV4 on it's Kuhmo summers – I'd say for snow traction the RAV4 on its summers/4wd is equal to the Bridgestones on 2wd. (Note though the RAV4's tyres are too wide for snow, but it does have a ride height benefit which makes a difference on deeper stuff). I wish the Bridgestones came in the RAV4's wheel size - I'd put them straight on...
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-17 16:27:56
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 82% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
My Volvo is a big heavy FWD car that puts a lot of pressure on the front tyres. These tyres replaced a set of Continentals and its really hard to judge replacing worn tyres with new, but I can safely say that these tyres are among the best I have ever fitted to my trusty old steed. Fully laden on fast wet bends and roudabouts they give me nothing but great grip and confidence. I cannot comment on wear as they have only done 3k. They must be one of the best value tyres on the market.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-04 15:22:14
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre