Volvo V70 D3 Tyres

Drive a Volvo V70 D3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo V70 D3
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Uniroyal Rainsport (24) 79% 87% 70% 78% 72% 74% 65% 75% 467,577

Volvo V70 D3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport given 74% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 27000 easy going miles
I had these fitted on the front axle my Mk3 Volvo V70. They still have 2.5mm on them..after 43,000km/27,000 miles. I did notice that the level of grip decreased in the last 10,000 km of their life but I don't really care especially when I look at the average people are getting on these tyres. I do mostly highway driving and the V70 is on the heavy side at 1,700 kg curb weight and front wheel drive. I'd buy these again
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-26 23:05:15
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 60% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10800 easy going miles
Having driven on Rainsport 2s for a couple of years I was rather impressed by them and assumed that the Rainsport 3s would be an improvement. But what a disappointment. Overall they were as good, in wet and dry breaking, as the tyres they replaced. However I found they had a negative effect on fuel consumption, and were much noisier.
However, the biggest failing of these tyres, is their rate of wear. I am not a fast driver and seldom do I exceed the speed limit. I don't drive aggressively and I don't even turn the steering wheel while the car is stationary.
My car went for its service today and to my absolute astonishment, my garage suggested I might consider replacing my front tyres as there was only 2mm of tread thereon. I bought these tyres 12 months ago and have driven only 10,800 miles on them. So, bye bye Rainsport 3s.
Will I buy them again? NO WAY!
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-27 23:58:40
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 59% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
On fitting absolutely fine. No issues with them other than wear. Less than 4 months (c10k miles) and they are down to the wear markers. Meanwhile the conti's I had fitted a year ago have done 8 months on the front (including a lot of towing the caravan over summer) and switched to the rear 4 months ago still have a couple of mm left as legal. The Khumo's have not done any towing and mostly motorway miles for work. Shocking. Will be spending £20-30 extra per corner next time for a premium brand - these are budget tyres with mid range cost.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-18 17:49:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre