Volvo V70 D5 185 Geartronic Tyres

Drive a Volvo V70 D5 185 Geartronic? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo V70 D5 185 Geartronic
Nokian WR A3 (71) 93% 88% 90% 83% 92% 92% 88% 89% 472,743
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (48) 88% 84% 85% 83% 82% 83% 78% 83% 205,744
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85% 85% 83% 526,200
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (201) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,381,628

Volvo V70 D5 185 Geartronic Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
I bought these tyres for a recent trip to Switzerland. Having only ever borrowed 4x4 cars before I was slightly sceptical about their ability to grip on ice and snow in a 2 wheel drive car. A long drive through a very wet France left me in doubt about the tyres wet weather capabilities - amazing grip and security. So on to the mountain stage, snow and icy car parks.....not a hint of slipping on snow - not once! But then the icy car parks....not a hint of slipping until I'd parked up and nearly fell over after getting out of the car. Fuel economy was better then my summer Pirelli tyres too. Brilliant amazing tyres for winter time. 100% recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-12 12:13:54
Writing about the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Just had four of these tyres fitted to my Volvo V70 2.4 D5 185. They have replaced the Pirelli PZero's that were fitted when I purchased the car from a main dealer. I must say I am extremely impressed as these, compared to other brands, were a lot cheaper. (Fully fitted ?90 each.) I was a little apprehensive with going for a cheaper tyre but was reassured by the fitter when he told me that these are a sister company of Continental Tyres and use the same silicon and tech as they do. They are much quiter than the PZero, as well as smoother, and find that I have more grip than the Pirelli could give me. I recommend these tyres if you are on a budget.
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-30 13:52:36
Writing about the Kleber Quadraxer given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-19 22:28:50
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 80% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Bought these to replace some Bridgestone RE050A that white lined like a cocaine addict in order to tame a big Volvo Diesel that was suffering torque steer, camber following, white lining and were some what noisy.

All the bad stuff is gone except under excessive acceleration when a small amount of torque steer is evident, but not surprising. Haven't tested in the wet yet, as the summer is upon us in driest Essex, but the dry running is as good as the Bridgestones and off the line under hard acceleration the traction control is noticeable by it's absence which is an improvement. White lining and camber following are not noticeable.

I have previously owned the original RT, 175 45 17 on a Citroen c4, and they were very good in the rain and and very quiet at speed, these (all be it pumped to Volvo ECO setting of 40PSI) are not so quiet (tyre fitter set them to 32PSI and they were quieter) and they smelt not so pleasant for the first 750 miles, though this was only when i got out of the car.
Fuel economy is the same which ever pressure you use, i will be off on a 350 mile round trip soon to verify.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-01 00:34:28
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 46% (245-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
245/40 R18 fitted to a Volvo v70 D5 185 BHP, driven for the last 7000 miles of their life.

White line like a cocaine addict.
Noisy, torque steer under heavy acceleration, poor traction off the line, excessive wheel spin under hard acceleration.
Grip in corners OK, prone to aquaplaning on any puddle ride is harsh.

Replaced with Dunlop Sportmaxx RT2 and the addition has gone, traction of the line is much better (no more traction control killing acceleration), noticeably quieter, still on rear for now but not so important.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-01 00:09:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre