Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto Tyres

Drive a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (4) 95% 98% 98% 100% 95% 95% 100% 97% 23,000
Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV (3) 90% 80% 87% 80% 90% 100% 77% 86% 20,000
Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV (3) 90% 90% 87% 87% 93% 67% 90% 86% 63,025
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV (4) 83% 87% 85% 85% 80% 93% 95% 85% 108,000
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Michelin CrossClimate (107) 89% 87% 85% 81% 86% 92% 88% 82% 1,314,939
Nokian W RG2 SUV (7) 87% 84% 83% 83% 70% 89% 76% 82% 145,250
Nokian WR SUV 3 (15) 86% 79% 85% 83% 75% 88% 74% 82% 107,000
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (7) 85% 92% 83% 70% 60% 87% 92% 81% 34,300
Nexen N Fera RU1 (16) 83% 74% 75% 75% 79% 85% 77% 78% 40,665
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (27) 86% 78% 77% 80% 84% 83% 81% 77% 813,733
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (20) 83% 81% 76% 83% 52% 71% 47% 70% 202,500
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (33) 78% 70% 68% 67% 61% 70% 55% 67% 540,949
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (41) 79% 63% 76% 73% 75% 72% 63% 60% 650,557

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental 4x4 WinterContact given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Used on my XC60 D5 In snow and ice, where other people have been crawling along or stranded, I’ve had no such issues. The traction in fresh snow is admirable and in ice is reassuring.

My wife and kids use this car, I have no hesitation with them going out in the snow when fitted with these. My current tyre of choice.

Mixture of A roads, B roads and motorway driving as well as still being fine on the mild days, not sloppy and actually increased mpg!
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-12 07:08:08
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 0 miles
Got these on my 2016 Volvo XC60 and just clicked up 22,000 miles and still got at least 5,000 more on them. Used on and off road in all weathers and never had a problem. Only 1mm wear difference between the front and the back.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-06 22:30:54
Writing about the Nokian W RG2 SUV given 100% (235-60-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Bought these 2 yrs ago. Mixed surfaces. Only used during the winter months. Wear rate is good. Feel very soft when cornering especially in warmer weather. Solid grip in wet conditions and felt very comfortable on the motorway. Noise is slightly high, but not too noticeable.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-16 17:28:48
Writing about the Continental 4x4 WinterContact given 100% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Used on my Volvo XC60 D5 AWD after reading lots of reviews. In the UK we had heavy snowfall this year and I was one of the few unaffected. At times I even got looks of envy from struggling drivers sliding around in lane 1 while I made my own tracks through the fresh snow in lane 2.

These cut through snow without any hassle at all, on country lanes which were ungritted and across inclines/declines they didn’t flinch. Better than sottozero’s which were my favourite winter rubber, until now that is. Even took for some light off-road action across a soggy field and they coped well.

I do plenty of mileage around 25-30k per annum. These tyres are also reassuring on both dry and wet surfaces in low temperature. There have been a few odd warm days around 12 degrees but the tyres don’t fell overly soft or sloppy when the temperature climbs (there have been 15 degree swings in temperature this year!). However it is time to put summers back on but can’t wait to get these out the garage again in winter.

The wear has been great too still plenty left for next year and my mpg was slightly better than the summer tyres. Also quieter. It’s a glowing review from me for these tyres, exceptional.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-24 07:08:49
Writing about the Continental Winter Contact TS 850 P SUV given 96% (235-60-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Have had these tyres on since October 2014, covered around 2,000 miles, so have driven in pretty much all conditions. Excellent handling and grip on wet, muddy, roads. Was really impressed with their grip on snow, felt really safe and positive feedback when turning. When the snow really came down and most of my neighbours stayed at home, we headed off up to the mountains to try them out on Virgin snow and ice covered roads! Superb grip, nothing thrown at them fazed them, brilliant performance. Their performance on wet surfaces is stunning, throwing the car around sharp bends and roundabouts at speed, not one moment of slip, stuck like glue, I cannot praise them enough. Would definitely recommend them without hesitation!
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-10 17:39:10
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given 93% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Second review. Have now done 12,000 miles on these tyres in a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD. Wear has been great, all four tyres are just between the 8-6 mm wear marks. Snow, Cold and wet Road performance has been exceptional. As we live in the northern part of the UK we opted for these instead of having a dedicated winter set of tyres. Really pleased with these tyres, dry Road performance not as good as a summer tyre but not far from it. Will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-27 09:43:01
Writing about the Nexen N Fera RU1 given 91% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40 easy going miles
Brilliant tyre, put 4 on my XC60 AWD 2 years ago, covered 40,000 miles. Rear are down to 5mm left & front are down to 2mm left.
deffo reccomend
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 14:55:46
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 91% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 51000 average miles
These tyres are give very good grip in wet and dry conditions. My tyres have done over 50,000 miles mostly motorways. The tyres got progressively noisier after 40,000 miles with a bit of shouldering on the front after 45,000 miles
I’ve been so impressed with these tyres, I’m having another set fitted tomorrow. I would recommend these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-08 07:27:08
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 SUV given 90% (235-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Live in Switzerland and have plenty of experience on snowy roads. The Vector Gen 2's performed just as well as a traditional winter tyre (I have alwys had Conti TS series,). A no brainer for me - the cost savings of changing tyres each summer/winter season will buy me a new set every 2 years!
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-10 19:41:45
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given 90% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Bought to replace a set of aging Continetal tyres on a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD. Have to say the grip in both the wet and dry is a much better. Snow performance wise we were not able to get out of our street on the old tyres last year, the Nokians handled everything thrown at them so we were very pleased and no issues with grp. So far we have done arond 2000 miles on them so it's too early t comment on wear. Road noise wise they were louder than expected when new but the noise reduced after the first 200 miles, and they are much quieter than the previous tyres we had. Off road, 4x4 traction and Nokian Tyres did not have any problems with muddy roads. Will definately buy again unless the wear turns out to be poor. Value wise, much better than the more expensive brrands available.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-17 12:43:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre