Volvo XC70 D5 Tyres

Drive a Volvo XC70 D5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo XC70 D5
Continental 4x4 WinterContact (4) 95% 98% 98% 100% 95% 95% 100% 97% 23,000
Continental AllSeasonContact (14) 88% 96% 89% 91% 83% 87% 95% 90% 80,170
Nokian WR A3 (71) 93% 88% 90% 83% 92% 92% 88% 89% 472,743
Continental Premium Contact 6 (36) 95% 91% 88% 91% 82% 87% 82% 88% 167,380
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (27) 90% 90% 82% 84% 86% 82% 88% 88% 192,000
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84% 91% 85% 71,750
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (20) 86% 81% 83% 82% 84% 89% 83% 85% 80,110
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76% 80% 79% 539,402
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71% 67% 73% 834,761
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (33) 78% 70% 68% 67% 61% 70% 55% 67% 540,949
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (8) 80% 63% 70% 74% 63% 74% 40% 66% 166,000
Continental 4x4 Contact (29) 80% 74% 70% 51% 50% 75% 51% 64% 597,085
Primewell VALERA TOURING (24) 74% 63% 41% 40% 55% 46% 38% 51% 251,590

Volvo XC70 D5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 100% (235-50-18-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30 spirited miles
I have just replaced the three different tyres on my recently purchased Volvo XC70 for the Continental Premium Contact 6 and the transformation is nothing short of amazing. Can’t comment on wet grip or longevity but I can honestly state these are the best tyres I have ever used on any vehicle. Handling, dry grip, road noise and comfort are 10/10 for me. Bought four of them for £508 inc vat which makes them outstanding value for money whilst delivering a sensational driving experience. Early days but I have been driving a wide range of cars for the last 36 years and I am regretting never having used a Continental tyre before. My previous cars have been VW Beetle, Triumph, Ford Cortina Mk111, Vauxhall Cavalier x 2, Vauxhall Carlton x 2, Audi A4, Nissan 200 SX, Peugeot 405 x 2, Mercedes CLK 230 Kompressor, Mercedes C Class Estate, Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressor, Nissan Navara Aventura, Mitsubishi Outlander, Ford Transit Connect, Land Rover Freelander, Land Rover Discovery 3, Land Rover Defender, Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 x 2, Volvo XC70 x 3 and I wish I had fitted Continentals years ago on all of them.............if I could have.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-27 19:33:35
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
I often drive to the north end of Vancouver Island where the road conditions change from -4C to +8C in a matter of 250 km turning HEAVY rain (30 mm in a 12 hour period) to black ice and the nastiest ice near 0C and cold grippy snow at higher elevations (rarely). For this season I bought a set of Winter Icept Evo. Aside from driving an all-wheel drive Volvo the Hankook blew me away. Twice I drove at nearly 100 km through half or wholey flooded roads and the car didn't flinch. The rest of the time when the roads are bare and dry the Hankooks are quiet and smooth - every bit as good as my Michelin all-seasons. Would I buy Hankook again? Absolutely. As far as tread wear goes I haven't had them long enough to judge.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-17 21:38:04
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 97% (225-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 easy going miles
Second set of these I've put on the Volvo now and they are great, get over 35k miles a set and are a great all rounder, very well matched to the car and easy to come by nationwide. Hard to give a full and accurate review of dynamic ability to the type of car they are fitted to but for the kind of driving I do I'll be happy to put a third set on.

Only issue is they are a little pricey, could be a few £ less to buy, over £550 for a set on my car!
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-31 20:41:49
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 94% (215-65-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Have just replaced a set of crossclimates for these contis and very impressed so far. Very good feedback, less sidewall roll than the michelins and altogether giving more confidence in cornering speed in both dry and wet. what bit of snow slush and ice driven on still gives positive grip and feedback. very difficult to spin out with 4wd and uprated ecu map.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-09 17:53:11
Writing about the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 given 90% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 700 spirited miles
The quality of this tyre (load factor 101) matches that the Conti Winter Contact TS830 P. Driven on Volvo XC70 D5 AWD manual, on A54 (Congleton-Buxton, on ice), A537 and A53 (sludge, wet snow) and A57 Snake Pass (1 1/2" dry snow). I could do 45 mph w/o any slipping and sliding. Road noise is limited. Fuel economy good.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-28 22:58:21
Writing about the Continental 4x4 WinterContact given 89% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Excellent Tire.

Have them fitted to an XC70 as a winter tyre in the UK. They go in late November and come off in early April.

Last year we had standing ice outside our front door (and for 5-6 miles down and below our house) for around 3 weeks. It was nigh on impossible to walk on the ice- the car with these fitted was immensely impressive- braking distances weren't much less than usual, and acceleration was easy too.

For us it was a no-brainer.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-09 13:00:52
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion STR given 88% (215-65-16-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
dry traction is fine, in the wet on asphalt, this "4 season" lacks compared to top summer tyres, as can be expected. Wear is very low.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-28 15:08:23
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion STR given 86% (215-65-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 220000 spirited miles
Came as OE on my XC70 and the 1st set lasted 48K miles before I changed them for the first time and they still had 3mm tread. Second set lasted 40k on more spirited m/way use. Subsequent sets have been 40K+ no problem. I have found them more than adequate on my car in all weathers. In snow/ice they have excellent traction and surefootedness. Last year in heavy snow was able to tow another car up a hill with no problem.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-10 14:57:21
Writing about the Achilles Winter 101 given 82% (235-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 spirited miles
Early days but after the Pirelli's that came with my car these tyres have transformed the car! Feels very sure footed along sweeping country back roads. Nice & quiet and economy seems no worse than before. At this early stage i am really pleased more so that they cost half the price of some mid range tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-28 20:34:22
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico given 80% (235-45-19-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
I drive a Volvo XC70 D5 AWD with Polestar on New Zealand roads. No back country off road yet tried. Tires are as awesome for evrything - wet, dry, conversation and never had an issue there - but they wear so badly. First three months replaced the back two as inside wall failed! A year later chunks of front tire shredded off after a rim rub while daughter was learning to drive - not a severe rub - I was in the car at the time. Today, 2 months after rim job, the rear tire replaced after the first three months is now showing strain on outer wall. Car is not used for anything other than touring, so why so much strain. My son has a Mazda 6, he does worse things than me and hasn't changed a tire in two years!! Looking for alternatives - maybe the AWD is a tough one for tires to handle,
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-19 10:17:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre