Volvo XC90 D5 (163bhp) Tyres

Drive a Volvo XC90 D5 (163bhp)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo XC90 D5 (163bhp)
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
Nokian NRVi (4) 90% 83% 87% 68% 80% 83% 83% 82% 96,000
Nexen N Fera RU1 (16) 83% 74% 75% 75% 79% 85% 77% 78% 40,665
Continental Cross Contact UHP (31) 86% 79% 75% 74% 53% 72% 64% 72% 757,387
Accelera Iota (35) 80% 68% 65% 65% 72% 66% 73% 70% 449,210
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (33) 78% 70% 68% 67% 61% 70% 55% 67% 540,949
Pirelli Scorpion Zero (11) 80% 69% 71% 60% 61% 70% 57% 67% 133,025
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Kumho Ecsta STX KL12 (3) 70% 47% 63% 60% 70% 80% 63% 65% 28,000
Federal Himalaya SUV (5) 66% 56% 40% 28% 58% 60% 46% 51% 49,100
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (24) 56% 30% 47% 39% 65% 58% 33% 47% 225,330
Nokian Z Sport Utility (1) 50% 40% 60% 20% 10% 50% 10% 34% 1,000

Volvo XC90 D5 (163bhp) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 94% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100000 spirited miles
I have these Tyres on my Volvo XC90 and they are fantastic super grip in the wet and dry low noise and they hardly ever wear. Even driving in deep snow they never got stuck I’ve just ordered a new set for the back in very fussy when it comes to Tyres and it’s hard to find a set your happy with but I love these
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-12 20:02:30
Writing about the Accelera Iota given 87% (235-30-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
Had these on all four corners of my Volvo XC90 for 6 years so gone few a few sets. These have been great. They are a tad noisier than the scorpions but I can't hunk per £ they are much better. I've used General Grabbers and in my opinion the Accellera iota are better. I had 5 new tyres fitted for £72 each corner. Bargain. As for the chap who said that he replied these after a week... You must have more money than sense!
These are great tyres on the Volvo.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-25 09:29:44
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 86% (265-60-18-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
I bought the Vreds because I'm due to drive down to the Alps with 6 people, and didn't want snow chains on the Pirelli's. I'm extremly impressed, especially now they have been tested in the recent snow in SE England. Made 2 Discoveries and a van look on with envy as I drove past their attempts to climb a steep icy incline. No real noise difference to the Pirelli's.
tyre reviewed on 2009-02-03 15:32:36
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact UHP given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 70000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-12 15:11:17
Writing about the Accelera Iota given 77% (235-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-08 20:58:11
Writing about the Maxtrek INGENS A1 given 77% (235-60-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
I have these tyres fitted on my Volvo XC90 . The only problem I had was caused by bad fitting of the tyres by the garage who failed to clean the alloy wheels before fitting them. This resulted in the tyres constantly deflating, took it back to the garage, cleaned the wheels up refitted the tyres perfect. Never had any problems with grip in either the wet or dry conditions , I do a lot of business miles up in the north east which frequently means wet weather , tyres have performed very well under emergency braking on both occasions I needed to . They are not the quietest tyres I have ever had but certainly no complaints from me. I am about to have my winter tyres taken off and will be fitting two more new ones on the front next week.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-02 11:02:51
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta STX KL12 given 75% (235-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Not had these long but already they are much better than the Conties that they have replaced. From new the grip has improved on the Conties.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-23 11:16:16
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 74% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Just had to replace the rears after 25,000 miles, the fronts have perhaps another 5,000 remaining. I also have noticed that with about 2 - 2.5mm of tread left the tread blocks appear to be degrading severely at the edges.

Decent grip in both dry & wet, ok in snow but not great, nothing special in slippery conditions.

Moving on to a set of Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-14 17:21:17
Writing about the Nokian NRVi given 67% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
I have read good reviews from exiting Volvo owners - many refer to the use of these tyres in Scandinavia and elsewhere in Europe. Not so common in the UK - yet.
Much cheaper than the OEM Continentals.
A little more noisy than the Continentals.
Lasted longer than my Continentals - 22,000 miles so far, but now almost on the limit.
Not much grip in snow or on ice though.
tyre reviewed on 2008-11-19 13:21:14
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Zero given 59% (235-60-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
13,300 and the front left if 80% worn, front right not too far behind. Rears appear in a better shape. Not great in the wet.
Will not be purchasing these again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-30 09:32:17
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre