Volvo s60 D5 (163) Tyres

Drive a Volvo s60 D5 (163)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volvo s60 D5 (163)
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Falken Azenis FK510 (61) 91% 89% 86% 85% 78% 78% 87% 85% 538,071
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Goodyear Eagle Vector (5) 76% 80% 83% 83% 85% 83% 90% 83% 83,065
Nokian WR D4 (55) 85% 86% 81% 80% 66% 86% 74% 82% 415,243
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83% 90% 82% 478,215
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (18) 76% 76% 74% 74% 78% 84% 81% 80% 147,000
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82% 85% 78% 55,100
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Linglong Green Max (33) 79% 73% 69% 72% 70% 77% 78% 74% 263,652
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624
Pirelli Winter 210 Sottozero 2 (4) 88% 88% 80% 20% 75% 60% 73% 69% 8,327
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (47) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 55% 54% 63% 379,781
Riken Riken UHP (4) 70% 50% 55% 58% 70% 63% 55% 60% 16,500
Kenda KAISER KR20 (58) 65% 46% 54% 54% 71% 55% 49% 56% 437,012
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Rotalla F108 (7) 67% 44% 48% 40% 65% 65% 42% 53% 61,000
Sava intensa hp (23) 57% 45% 44% 39% 59% 60% 41% 50% 216,319
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 44% 869,429
Infinity INF 05 (66) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45% 33% 44% 367,897
Sunny SN3800 (62) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28% 19% 33% 254,716

Volvo s60 D5 (163) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
I have recently fitted four Michelin PS3 tyres to my Volvo s60 D5, they have transformed the car. The car no longer tramlines, the tyres are very quiet on various road surfaces, and absorb bumps and iregularities in the road surface better than the previous tyres (Dunlop sport maxx), giving a more comfortable ride. The car feels more stable at speed and more predictable when cornering. Although I have not yet driven many miles on these tyres I will buy Michelin PS3's again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-02 17:21:17
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 90% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
the best choice! in snow not possible to slide onder 60! in wet no complaint ready to turn up to 160
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-28 21:56:11
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 90% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I have used these tyres on my previous E-Class Mercedes and more recently on my Volvo S60. They are a fantastic tyre in my opinion at around 35% of the cost of equivalent Continentals I had fitted before (on both vehicles). Wear is better and they are also quieter. Wet grip is fine and I am about to have another set fitted by my local supplier at £57.60 each fully fitted. No brainer!!
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-18 11:50:24
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Hankook Tyres / Car / Hankook K115 Ventus Prime 2 Hankook K 115 - 225/45 R17 94W XL TL
is the acutal tyres I have been buying for my Volvo S60 2.4 D5, I am now on my 6th pair, I average 20,000 miles per tyre change, I do buy them on line for £56.00+ & postage, plus fitting at my local garage, as I have three cars in the family. Hence to save money where I can, but not on performance.

I am very happy with the performance of these tyres, I don't hang around on my journey sometimes, and they do hold the road well. the only time they start to follow the ruts and markings are when the tread is getting close to the limits
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-17 14:35:40
Writing about the Marangoni Meteo HP given 89% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
I drive a heavy Volvo s60 and I've chosen these tyres as the price was way lower than premium brands and I must say that I was really impressed with their performance. I previously had winter Pirreli ans Continentals and I am convinced these Marangoni are in a way, better than Pirelli, they are definitely much quieter and the grip on snow is about the same. Conti's are better hence the huge difference in price.
I'm now buying the 2nd set of these as I believe they're worth the money I spend.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-29 22:55:39
Writing about the Linglong Green Max given 85% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Another sceptical buyer, I went off the review from a fellow Volvo driver and advice from my garage that these tyres perform beyond their price. Well they do! Done about 1000miles in a week or so, through cold, warm, wet and dry weather. These tyres perform very well, better than my previous tyres which included continental, bridgestones and Michelin. The ride and comfort is also greatly improved even with the XL rating which is a bonus, I haven't experienced tramlining or pulling through ruts in lorry lanes and the tyres are very responsive at all speeds. Considering the price I'm happy for them to wear faster and ensure I don't have aging tyres on the vehicle.

I have to recommend them for anybody not racing all the time, and not running silly power. I'm an aggressive driver, but fluid and smooth, and I have a heavy and torquey car so that tyres are definitely tested hard. I've pushed them more than I was previously comfortable with and they keep excelling. The only test I've missed is the snow, but I fully expect to run winter tyres again so am not worried. And the freezing temperatures haven't worried the tyres yet, even when I was skating out to the car in the morning.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-02 14:17:52
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 85% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 200 average miles
I have this tire only for a month, but I encourage You to buy, and also share your impressions here. In the same summer conditions it adds 15 kmh in corners regarding the winter tire. I think i makes more noise at 90 than i imagined, but also absorbs the bumps better than softer winter tires did. I hold 2,6 bars on my 1,6 t weight car. please share your impressions and the pressure too!
Overall I spent a lot of time choosing, and I m happy with my decision. I prefer not the 3 main brands, but i did not wanted made in china stuff. This tire costs 30€ less than conti and 20€ less than hankook which i was consdidering.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-07 11:51:01
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 84% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
I bought a set of two and fitted them on the front wheels. They wear down a bit faster that michelins and I would blame the car for that to a certain extent (heavy tank and front wheels drive). I've done 14.000 miles and I have just about 4mm left.
It proved to be very good tyre for the price I paid (?85 incl. fitting).
Excellent grip on both dry and wet roads . Good grip when cornering and breaking.
It needs a couple of miles to warm up then the ride is quiet and comfortable . I'd dare to compare it to top brands tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-17 00:49:52
Writing about the Sava Eskimo S3 Plus given 83% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-09 09:06:19
Writing about the Infinity INF 05 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
WELL, surprised at the comments,(i am a heavy driver by the way), I have driven at least 12,000 miles on these tyres, 4 fitted new on my 2002 Volvo s60 d5 fwd , heavy car 1.5t front wheel drive , in the dry they offer the grip all good brands would,hardly any wear after 12k, all 4 fitted £200,in the wet the tyres do show there true colors,but they offer grip and stability even in the wet weather,sometimes slight wheel spin from the lights depends on the type of tarmac used,i drove 450 miles last week in the heavy downpours and loacalized flooding,no real drama's ,good stability plenty of ground water lift created by the grooves, only had 1 moment,but it still held well and didn't take me out of my comfort zone (40 mph round a unexpected rounabout, long story), would buy again
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-26 21:14:13
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre